Track your constituency

Varanasi Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Phase 3 - Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live Update Lok Sabha (General) Election 2019 – Third Phase Live Updates

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for the second Read More…

Chintamani Corner - Chintamani Corner – Phase 3 Post Poll Analysis |

Lok Sabha 2019 Chintamani Election Analysis – Read Below    Chintamani Shastri is an Election Expert and he is back with his 2019 Analysis of the Lok Sabha Elections. Check Read More…

VIP Candidates - Phase 3 Lok Sabha Election 2019 VIP Battles in the Third Phase

The third phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held today. Polling is being held in 115 constituencies across 15 states and Union Territories. Voting is also being Read More…

Assembly Election 2019 Odisha Assembly Election 2019: LIVE Updates

Odisha Assembly Election Live Updates: 2:12:15 PM Odisha Chief Electoral Officer votes in Bhubaneswar Surendra Kumar, the Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha who is overseeing the entire election in the state, cast his Read More…

Phase 3 Opinion Polls 2019 Chintamani – 5Dots Opinion Poll for Third Phase

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for second phase Read More…

Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades

Overcoming more than two decades of political and personal rivalry, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati on Friday sought votes for Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav in his turf Mainpuri, Read More…

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
BJPVaranasiNarendra Damodardas Modi

Varanasi is going to be the most watched-out constituency in these Lok Sabha elections. Ending all speculations, BJP finally announced that its prime ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi will contest the Lok Sabha elections from Vadodara constituency in Gujarat apart from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. Modi has replaced the Varanasi sitting MP and senior leader, Murli Manohar Joshi, who earlier put up a strong opposition but conformed to the party’s decision.

Hearing this, Arvind Kejriwal, leader of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), has also announced that he is ready to fight against Modi in Varanasi. Nevertheless, he said that he will take the final decision once he visits Varanasi on 23 March and will go by people's opinion. “Whatever the people of Varanasi will say, that will be final. If the people of Varanasi decide to give me this responsibility, I will accept it wholeheartedly,” Kejriwal said.

But, more is yet to be added to the surprise factor, as the Congress has still not announced its candidate against Modi. Congress asserts to give a good fight to Modi and does not rule out the probability of pitching an outsider. Some party members want a powerful leader against Modi, while others want a celebrity to be fielded against him.

But, this battle of power will get interesting if Congress decides to field its Vice President Rahul Gandhi from Varanasi, against Modi. The holy city of Varanasi is soon to become a battlefield for the three top political contenders of the nation, Narendra Modi, Arvind Kejriwal and Rahul Gandhi to show their political stand. Time will tell who fits into the “Ghar Ghar” slogan among the three in Varanasi.

One of the 80 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, Varanasi belongs to the Varanasi district. The Varanasi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 77) has a total of 1,561,854 electorates out of which 694,209 are females and 867,645 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Formed in prior to the 1952 constituency elections, the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency comprises of five Vidhan Sabha segments. It is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world and is oldest in India. The city lies on the banks of the River Ganges in Uttar Pradesh, 320 kms away from Lucknow. It has a population of over 12,00,000 with 53% male majority. It has a sex ratio of 879 females per 1,000 males. Hindi is the official and the most widely spoken language while English and Urdu are prevalent as well. Over 86% of the population is Hindu, while Muslims, Buddhists, Jains and Christians also reside here.

With an average literacy rate of 80%, it has several important colleges and universities of the country and is an important education centre in India. Most notably, it is the site of Banaras Hindu University, which is one of the largest residential universities in Asia. The Indian Institute of Technology (BHU) Varanasi is another important centre of education here. Its economy is dominant by the silk weaving industry. Other industries include metal manufacturing sector, Diesel Locomotive Works, Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited. National Highways NH-2, NH-7, NH-29 and NH-56 connect Varanasi to several major cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Varanasi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Varanasi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Varanasi constituency is Narendra Modi of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201477VaranasiGENNarendra ModiMBJP581022Arvind KejriwalMAAP209238
200977VaranasiGENJoshi,Dr. Murli Manohar MBJP203122Mukhtar AnsariMBSP185911
200448VaranasiGENDr. Rajesh Kumar MishraMINC206904Shankar Prasad JaiswalMBJP149468
199952VaranasiGENShankar Prasad JaiswalMBJP211955Rajesh Kumar MishraMINC159096
199852VaranasiGENShankar Prasad JaiswalMBJP277232Deena Nath Singh YadavMCPM125286
199652VaranasiGENShankar Prasad JaiswalMBJP250991Raj KishoreMCPM150299
199152VaranasiGENSheesh Chandra DixitMBJP186333Raj KishoreMCPM145894
198952VaranasiGENAnil ShastriMJD268196Shyam Lal YadavMINC96593
198452VaranasiGENShyam Lal YadavaMINC153076UdalMCPI58646
198052VaranasiGENKamalapatiMINC(I)129063Raj NarainMJNP(S)104328
197752VaranasiGENChandra ShekherMBLD233194Raja RamMINC61340
197152VaranasiGENRaja Ram ShastriMINC138789Kamla Prasad Singh MBJS52941
196752VaranasiGENS. N. SinghMCPM105784R. Singh MINC87617
196252VaranasiGENRaghunath SinghMINC104682RaghuviraMJS58775
195739VaranasiGENRaghunath Singh MINC131087Sheomangal Ram (Sc)MIND59161

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Varanasi Constituency

Name of MP Shri Narendra Modi
Age 68
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A. (Pol. Science)
Activities of Shri Narendra Modi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 19
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Varanasi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Varanasi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
RohaniyaVaranasi NorthVaranasi South
Varanasi Cantt.Sevapuri

Last Updated on March 13, 2019