Phase 6 of General Elections 2014 will be held on 24-04-2014 for 39 seats in Tamil Nadu |Phase 6 of Assembly Elections 2014 will be held on 24-04-2014 for 1 seats in Tamil Nadu |

Thoothukkudi Lok Sabha (General) Elections Result

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Thoothukudi Lok Sabha Constituency was formed after the 2008 Presidential Notification of delimitation of constituencies. The total number of electorates in the Thoothukkudi Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 36) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 949,153 of which 465,657 are males and 483,496 are females. It has 949,153 voters and comprises of six legislative assembly segments of which one is for the SC category. The city of Thoothukudi is the headquarters of the Thoothukudi District which has a total area of 4,745 sq km. It is located along the Bay of Bengal at the extreme south eastern region of the state at a distance of 590 km from Chennai.

List of candidates of Thoothukkudi constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Thoothukkudi Constituency in the Tamil Nadu General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Thoothukkudi, Constituency No -(36)
Election Date24/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPAyyadurai. S
AIADMKJeyasingh Thiyagaraj Natterjee.J
INCShanmugam, A.P.C.V.
CPIMohanraj. A
DMKJegan. P

INDSanthadevi. S

INDSamuel. A.S.

INDVinston Anto. S

INDAnandharaj, M.

INDAlwarsamy Karthikeyan.L

INDRamkumar. V


As per 2011 census, the population is 1,750,176 making it the 277th most populous district of India out of a total of 640 districts. The area has a population density of 369 people per sq km and the sex ratio here is 1024 females per 1000 males. Children comprise about 13% of the total population and Hindus have a 79% majority here. Tamil and English are the widely spoken languages here. The average literacy rate is 87% with male literacy rate being 89% and female literacy rate being 82%. Several premier institutions are located here. The National Highway of NH45B along with several state highways connects it to a large network of roads.

Thoothukkudi General Elections 2014 Important Dates

The table below represents the important dates associated with the Thoothukkudi General Elections 2014 and when are elections going to be held in Thoothukkudi - the date of issue of notification, nominations and much, more.

Phase of General ElectionPhase-6
Issue of Notification29/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations05/04/14
Scrutiny of Nominations07/04/14
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature09/04/14
Date of Poll24/04/2014
Counting of Votes16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed28/05/2014

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thoothukkudi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thoothukkudi parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thoothukudi constituency is Shri S. R. Jeyadurai of DMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPSexPartyVoteRunner Up MPSexPartyVote
200936ThoothukkudiGENJeyadurai,Shri S. R. MDMK311017Cynthia Pandian.DrMADMK234368

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about sitting MP of Thoothukkudi Constituency

Name of MP S. R. Jeyadurai
Age 44
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of S. R. Jeyadurai in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 12
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 643
Attendance 58%
Elections.in Verdict

Note : (Data corresponds to the period 4 Jun 2009 to 18 Dec 2013.)

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thoothukudi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thoothukkudi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SrivaikuntamOttapidaram (SC)Kovilpatti

Last Updated on January 14, 2014

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright elections.in All right reserved