Do you think money power will determine the results of the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections?
News at a Glance
TN Elections 2016: Jayalalitha releases manifesto for Tamilnadu | Opinion poll suggests DMK ahead of AIADMK in Western Tamil Nadu | Ramachandran likely to win it for the DMK | Sonia, Rahul Gandhi to Campaign in Tamil Nadu on 5 and 7 May | The 234 assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu will go to polls on 16 May

Krishnagiri Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Krishnagiri Parliamentary Constituency 2014 Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2014 lok sabha election in Krishnagiri.

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2014 AIADMK WinnerAshok Kumar.K 480491
2014 DMK Runner UpChinna Pillappa.P 273900
YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2009 DMKWinnerSugavanam,Shri E.G. 335977

Formed in 1951, the Lok Sabha Constituency of Krishnagiri represents the district of Krishnagiri and is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary constituencies and has six segments of the legislative assembly. The Krishnagiri Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 9) has a total of 1,014,758 electorates out of which 494,915 are females and 519,843 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. One of the segments is reserved for the SC category and there are 1,014,000 voters here. Krishnagiri District has its headquarters located in the city of Krishnagari, located about 90 km from Bangalore. The district has five Taluks and over 700 villages and sprawls over an area of 5,130 sq km along the border of the state of Andhra Pradesh. Tamil and Kannada are widely used here.

With a population density of 367 and a growth rate of 21%, the total population of Krishnagiri is 1,880,000 of males are 961,000 and females are 920,000. Child population of the district is about 218,000 and the sex ratio is 958 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate here is 72%, male literacy rate is 79% and female literacy rate of 64%. Tourism and agriculture boost the economy of the district. Hindu is the primary religion here and there are over 50 temples situated in the area. The district is well connected via the National Highways NH-46, NH-66, NH-219 and NH-7.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Krishnagiri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Krishnagiri parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Krishnagiri constituency is Shri Ashok Kumar.K of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20149KrishnagiriGENAshok Kumar.KMAIADMK480491Chinna Pillappa.PMDMK273900
20099KrishnagiriGENSugavanam,Shri E.G. MDMK335977Nanjegowdu. K.MADMK259379
200414KrishnagiriGENSugavanam. E. GMDMK403297Nanje Gowdu. KMADMK284075
199914KrishnagiriGENVetriselvan, V.MDMK347737Thambidurai, M.MADMK315913
199814KrishnagiriGENMunusamy K.P.MADMK315762Rajaram Naidu D.R.MTMC(M)266413
199614KrishnagiriGENNarasimhan CMTMC(M)371009Elankovan. E.V.K.S.MINC176333
199114KrishnagiriGENRama Murthy K.MINC353033Manickam R.MJD139919
198914KrishnagiriGENRamamoorthy, K.MINC362376Venkataswamy, B.MJD160882
198414KrishnagiriGENK. RamamurthiMINC304854T. ChandrasekaranMDMK138488
198014KrishnagiriGENRamamurthy K.MINC(I)222839Rajahagopal VMADK122328
197714KrishnagiriGENPeriasamy P.V.MADK222979Kamalanathan MMDMK103751
1971Bye PolKrishnagiriGENC.SubramaniamMINC190186O.A.V.DesiganMIND19301
197113KrishnagiriGENT. Thirthagiri GounderMINC186114T. M. ThirupathyMSWA151194

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Krishnagiri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Krishnagiri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Uthangarai (SC)BargurKrishnagiri
VeppanahalliHosur Thalli

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency