Will the BJP beat the Congress in Karnataka?
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election

Tambaram (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Tambaram assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Tambaram Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
S R Raja (won by: 14445)
Political Party -

Tambaram Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Tambaram Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AIADMK RunnerUpRajendran C 87390
2016 DMK WinnerS R Raja 101835

List of candidates for Tambaram Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AIADMK, BJP, DMK, Congress, DMDK, PMK, Independent etc. from the Tambaram Assembly Constituency in the Tamil nadu Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Tambaram , Constituency No -(31)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
AIADMK Rajendran C
BJPVedasubramaniam A
DMK S R Raja
INDArul Santha Michel
INDS Ilanchezhian
INDK Gopinath
INDG Sarangabani
INDS Sivaraman
INDR Suresh
INDT Thangavel
INDX Tamil Selvan
INDK Dhananchezhiyan
INDS Rajendran
PMKR Suresh
DMDKM Chezhiyan
KMDKP Arumugam
Naam Tamilar KatchiNaganathan B
SDPIS Mohamad Bilal

About Tambaram Assembly Constituency

Tambaram is constituency No. 31 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in Kancheepuram district. It is an open constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, the constituency of Tambaram has 2,55,030 registered voters. It includes 1,29,224 male and 1,25,771 female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the AIADMK won this seat. T. K. M. Chinneyah, the winning candidate from AIADMK, got 91,702 votes. S. R. Raja was the runner-up; he got 77,718 votes. The voter turnout was 69.93%.

This was an important win for the AIADMK. This seat had been with the DMK for three consecutive terms. AIADMK had last won this seat in the 1984 elections.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Tambaram Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Tambaram assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201131TambaramGENT. K. M. ChinneyahMAIADMK91702S. R. RajaMDMK77718
200620TambaramGENRaja, S.RMDMK269717Somu ,KMMDMK220965
200120TambaramGENVaidialingam M.A.MDMK150961Chakkaraipani Reddiar Thiru .K.MTMC(M)145530
199620TambaramGENVaidyalingam, M.A.MDMK166401Madhavan, K.B.MINC52442
199120TambaramGENS.M. KrishnanMINC111588M.A. VaidiallingamMDMK64740
198920TambaramGENVaithlyaligam, M.A.MDMK90007Doss, A.J.MINC43746
198420TambaramGENElla RajamanickamMADK75155M. A. VaidialingamMDMK68009
198020TambaramGENPammal NallathambiMDMK59931Munu AdhiMADK53746
197720TambaramGENMunu AdhiMADK32394Pammal N. NallathambiMDMK31968

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency