Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kovilpatti (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kovilpatti assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kovilpatti Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
C. Kadambur Raju (won by: 428)
Political Party -

Kovilpatti Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kovilpatti Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AIADMK WinnerC. Kadambur Raju 64514
2016 DMK RunnerUpA.Subramanian 64086

List of candidates for Kovilpatti Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AIADMK, BJP, DMK, Congress, DMDK, PMK, Independent etc. from the Kovilpatti Assembly Constituency in the Tamil nadu Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kovilpatti , Constituency No -(218)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPK. Muthuraj
AIADMK AIADMK C. Kadambur Raju
AIFBAIFBR. Murugeshan
DMK DMK A.Subramanian
INDINDS. Seetharaman
INDINDA. Subburaj
INDINDA. Veilumuthupandian
MDMKMDMKVinayaga Ramesh G
PMKPMKG. Ramachandiran
Naam Tamilar KatchiNaam Tamilar KatchiT. Muthu Mari
TMMKTMMKM. Ravikumar
ABHMABHMV.G. Rathakrishnan

About Kovilpatti Assembly Constituency

Kovilpatti is constituency No. 218 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in Thoothukudi district and comes under Sivakasi Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Kovilpatti has 1,81,097 registered voters. It comprises 90,422 male and 90,675 female registered voters.

The AIADMK won this seat by 26,480 votes in the 2011 Assembly elections. Kadambur Raju C., the winning candidate, got 73,007 votes. The voter turnout was 72.25 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kovilpatti Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kovilpatti assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2011218KovilpattiGENKadambur Raju CMAIADMK73007Ramachandran GMPMK46527
2001212KovilpattiGENRajendran .S.MCPI45796Rajaram .KMDMK36757
1996212KovilpattiGENAyyalusamy, L.MCPI39315Radhakrishnan, K.S.MMDMK31828
1991212KovilpattiGENShymala R.FADK58535Aiyalusamy L.MCPI30284
1989212KovilpattiGENAlagarsomy, S.MCPI35008Radhakrishnan, S.MDMK31724
1980212KovilpattiGENAlagarasamy, S.MCPI39442Jeyalakshmi, V.FINC(I)30792
1977212KovilpattiGENS. AlagarsamyMCPI21985P. SeenirajMADK21588
1971210KovilpattiGENAlagarsamy S.MCPI38844Subba Naicker L.MNCO23646

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency