Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Ganganagar Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

The Parliamentary Constituency of Ganganagar is one of Rajasthan's 25 Lok Sabha constituencies and it is reserved for the SC category. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Ganganagar Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 1,491,983 of which 688,591 are females and 803,392 are males. It was formed before the 1952 elections and comprises of eight Vidhan Sabha segments. The
administrative headquarters of Sri Ganganagar district is situated in the town of Sri Ganganagar, the northernmost city of Rajasthan. It is situated at an average elevation of 164 metres. Hindi is the official language while Punjabi and Bagri are also widely spoken.

As per the 2011 census, Sri Ganganagar has a population of 19,69,520 of which 52.99% are males and 47.01% are females. The sex ratio is 887 females per 1,000 males. The overall literacy rate is 70.25%, with male literacy at 79.25% and female literacy at 60.07%. Majority of the population is Hindu and Sikh. Sri Ganganagar has been an important centre for education since its early days. It has a number of notable schools and colleges.

The economy of the city is mainly based on agriculture. Desert land has been converted into agricultural land that produces the majority of the crops of the state, making this district "the food basket of Rajasthan". The National Highway NH-15 passes through Sri Ganganagar connecting it to a vast road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ganganagar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ganganagar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ganganagar constituency is Shri Nihalchand of BJP.

PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Ganganagar(SC)NihalchandMBJP658130Master Bhanwarlal MeghwalMINC366389
20091Ganganagar(SC)Meghwal,Shri Bharat Ram MINC476554Nihal ChandMBJP335886
20041Ganganagar(SC)Nihalchand MeghwalMBJP331475BharatramMINC324082
19991Ganganagar(SC)Nihal ChandMBJP358104Er. Shankar PannuMINC262218
19981Ganganagar(SC)Eng. Shankar PannuMINC335052Nihal ChandMBJP292291
19961Ganganagar(SC)Nihal ChandMBJP233112Birbal RamMINC177478
19911Ganganagar(SC)Birbal RamMINC213338Dungar Ram PanwarMBJP101347
19891Ganganagar(SC)Bega RamMJD307279Heera Lal IndoraMINC243746
19801Ganganagar(SC)BirbalMINC(I)226973Bega RamMJNP(S)141133
19771Ganganagar(SC)Bega RamMBLD204812BirbalMINC139457
19711Ganganagar(SC)Panna Lal BarupalMINC157863Ganesh Ram MIND91955
19671Ganganagar(SC)P. LalMINC117966G. ChandMSWA61588
196221Ganganagar(SC)Panna LalMINC134133Ram Chandra MIND74513

Facts about current sitting MP of Ganganagar Constituency

Name of MP Shri Nihal Chand Chauhan
Age 47
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A.
Activities of Shri Nihal Chand Chauhan in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 19
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 87
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ganganagar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ganganagar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Sadulshahr Ganganagar Karanpur
Suratgarh Raisingh Nagar (SC) Sangaria
Hanumangarh Pilibanga (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency