Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Brig T Sailo Biography

Brig. T Sailo

Thenphunga Sailo

DOB January 1, 1922
Place of BirthMelkhat Veng, Lunglei, Mizoram
EducationElementary schooling in Serkawn Middle School in Lunglei. He completed Intermediate in Sciences, then under the University of Calcutta, before he joined the Indian Army Officer in 1942.
Profession before joining politicsT. Sailo served the British Indian Army as well as the Indian Army. Being among the first Mizo Army Officers, he was promoted to Lt Colonel in 1960, in 1963 he was again promoted to Colonel and then in 1966 to Brigadier.
Spouse NameThansiamii
AchievementsInitiated many developmental projects like hydel projects, rail communication, capital expansion plans and program for self-sufficiency in food production. Founder of People's Conference Party

About Brig. T Sailo

Thenphunga Sailo, famous as Brig. T Sailo, is the founder of the Mizoram People's Conference. He has been the Chief Minister of Mizoram twice.

Personal background of Brig. T Sailo

Brig. T. Sailo was born on January 1, 1922 as a son of Mizo Chief Mr. Vancheuva and Mrs. Hrangvungi. He finished his elementary schooling at Serkawn Middle School, Lunglei, and High School in Shillong. His wife’s name is Thansiamii. Brig. T Sailo's professional background before entering politics Before

getting into politics, T. Sailo served the British Indian Army as well as the Indian Army. In 1942 he was recruited as a Second Lieutenant in the Indian Army. In 1960 he was made a Lt. Colonel and later in 1963 he got promoted to the designation of Colonel. In 1966 he was again promoted and was made a Brigadier. He retired from the Indian Army in 1974.

Political activities and achievements 

  • 1974: Organised the Human Rights Committee
  • 1975: Laid the foundation of the People's Conference Party
  • 1978, 1979: Became the Chief Minister of Mizoram
  • 1998: Elected as the Principal Adviser to the Chief Minister
  • 2008: Elected from the Aizwal South 2 constituency in the assembly elections of Mizoram

Awards Won

  • 1999: Padma Shree
  • 2011: Mizo Award, presented by Lt. Gen. Madan Mohan Lakhera, the Governor of Mizoram
You may also like to read
Know about Om Prakash Chautala
Know Political Journey of Nitish Kumar
Know about Elections in India
Last Updated on 23 May, 2018.

Track your constituency