Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Thane Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 48 parliamentary constituencies of Maharashtra, Thane was formed prior to the elections of 1951 and comprises of six legislative assembly segments. The Thane Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 25) consists of 1,806,803 number of electorates in totality, of these 998,792 are males and 808,011 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. The city of Thane is the administrative headquarters of the Thane District and lies to the North East of Mumbai over a total area of about 147 sq kms with the Thane Creek flowing through it. One of the oldest cities in the country, Thane is also called the City of Lakes and has over 35 lakes.

According to the 2011 census, it has a population of over 18,00,000 of which about 11% is under six years of age. The city has 52% male majority and a sex ratio of 882 females per 1,000 males. 70% of the population is Hindu and the rest of the population is occupied by Muslims, Buddhists, Christians, Jains, etc. The average literacy rate is about 92%, male literacy over 94.19% and female literacy about 88.14%. Marathi is the official language here, although, several other languages are spoken by the locals. Thane has several public and private schools as well as colleges. It’s an important industrial area in the city and has over a thousand large and small scale industries. National Highway NH-4 and several state highways connect it to the nearby places.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thane Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thane parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thane constituency is Vichare Rajan Baburao of SHS.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201425ThaneGENVichare Rajan BaburaoMSHS595364Sanjeev Ganesh NaikMNCP314065
200925ThaneGENNaik,Dr. Sanjeev Ganesh MNCP301000Chaugule Vijay LaxmanMSHS251980
2008Bye PolThaneGENAnand Prakash Paranjpe MSS 462766Sanjeev Ganesh Naik MNCP371894
200410ThaneGENParanjape Prakash VishvanathMSHS631414Davkhare Vasant ShankarraoMNCP609156
199910ThaneGENPrakash ParanjpeMSHS391446Nakul PatilMINC291763
199810ThaneGENParanjpe Prakash VishwanathMSHS553210Kenia Chandrika PremjiMSP303631
199610ThaneGENParanjpe Prakash VishwanathMSHS466773Haribansh Singh Ramakbal SinghMINC274136
199110ThaneGENKapse Ramchandra GaneshMBJP302928Haribansh Singh Ram Akabal SinghMINC274611
198910ThaneGENKapse Ramchandra GaneshMBJP467892Gholap Shantaram GopalMINC379628
198410ThaneGENGhopal Shantaram GopalMINC328709Patil Jagannath ShivramMBJP213319
1982Bye PolThaneGENP.J.ShiavramMBJP144458P.M.HegdeMINC99651
198010ThaneGENMhalgi Ramchandra KashinathMJNP185831Hegde Prabhakar MadhavraoMINC(I)175556
197710ThaneGENMhalgi Ramchandra KashinathMBLD230502Deshmukh Pandurang ShivramMINC147756
19625ThaneGENSonubhau Dagadu BaswantMINC132920Shamrao Vishnu ParulekarMCPI61277

Facts about current sitting MP of Thane Constituency

Name of MP Shri Rajan Baburao Vichare
Age 57
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Shiv Sena
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter/Higher Secondary
Activities of Shri Rajan Baburao Vichare in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 44
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 420
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thane Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thane parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Mira BhayandarOvala-MajiwadaKopri-Pachpakhadi

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency