Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Nagpur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Nagpur Lok Sabha Election 2014 Summary

The Nagpur Parliamentary constituency presented a big surprise this general election.
Former BJP national president Nitin Gadkari defeated Congress leader Vilas Muttemwar by a margin of 284828 votes. Gadkari, who contested for the first time in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, garnered 587767 votes, while INC's Vilas, with 302939 votes, was nowhere near him. In the third place, BSP's Dr. Mohan Ramrao Gaikwad won a total of 96433 votes.

Gadkari had earlier campaigned extensively for the party both inside and outside his constituency. The last time when BJP had won from Nagpur was in 1996 when Banwarilal Purohit had defeated Congress' Kunda Vijaykar.

Nagpur Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Maharashtra and is divided into 6 segments. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Nagpur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 10) were 1,738,920 of which 835,232 are females and 903,688 are males. It is the administrative headquarters of Nagpur district and the seat of the annual winter state assembly session of Maharashtra. Nagpur is located at the centre of the Indian peninsula and has a Zero Mile stone signifying the geographical centre of the country. It covers an area of about 230 sq km and has an average elevation of 300 m.

With a population of over 24,00,000, it is the 13th most populous city of India. Over 50% of the population is male and the city has a sex ratio of 961 females per 1,000 males. About 10% of the population is under the age of 6. It is the headquarters of RSS, the Hindu nationalist party and has a 66% Hindu population. Buddhists, Muslims and Jains also reside in this city. The official language here is Marathi. Nagpur is a major hub for education in central India and has several prestigious institutions for higher education including the country's only fire engineering college. It is one of most industrialised cities of the country having several companies of power transmission, tractor manufacturing, mining and even food manufacturing.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Nagpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Nagpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Nagpur constituency is Shri Gadkari Nitin Jairam of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201410NagpurGENGadkari Nitin JairamMBJP587767Vilas MuttemwarMINC302939
200910NagpurGENMuttemwar,Shri Vilas Baburao MINC315148Purohit Banwarilal BhagwandasMBJP290749
200423NagpurGENVilas MuttemwarMINC373769AtalbahadursinghMBJP274286
199923NagpurGENVilas MuttemwarMINC424450Vinod Yashwantrao Gudadhe (Patil)MBJP351755
199823NagpurGENVilas MuttemwarMINC486928Mantri Ramesh ManaklalMBJP323646
199623NagpurGENBanwarilal PurohitMBJP353547Kunda Avinash VijaykarMINC232045
199123NagpurGENMeghe Dattaji RaghobajiMINC274448Banwarilal PurohitMBJP199728
198923NagpurGENPurhit Banwarilal BhagwandasMINC277292Kukreja ArjundasMBJP187292
198423NagpurGENBanwarilal Bhagwandas PurohitMINC293739Khobragde Shyam DewajiMRPK163056
198023NagpurGENDhote Jambuwant BapuraoMINC(I)246397Khobragade Shyam DewajiMRPK119954
197723NagpurGENAwari Gev MancharshaMINC172010Khobragade Bhaurao DewajiMRPK130457
197121NagpurGENJambuwantrao Bapurao BhoteMFBL125552Rikhabchand Kalyanmal SharmaMINC123496
196721NagpurGENN. R. DeoghareMINC129736A. Bardhan MCPI97767
196232NagpurGENMadhao Shrihari AneyMIND131740Rikhabchand Kalyanmal SharmaMINC84872

Facts about current sitting MP of Nagpur Constituency

Name of MP Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari
Age 61
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Com., LL.B.
Activities of Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 23
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Nagpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Nagpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Nagpur South WestNagpur EastNagpur Central
Nagpur WestNagpur North (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency