Track Your Constituency

Mumbai-North-Central Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Mumbai North Central Parliamentary Constituency 2014 Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2014 lok sabha election in Mumbai North Central.

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2014 BJP Winner Poonam Mahajan 478539
2014 INC Runner Up Priya Dutt 291764
YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2009 INCWinnerDutt,Smt. Priya Sunil 319352

Mumbai North-Central is one of the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies of Maharashtra and was formed before 1952. The Mumbai North Central Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 29) has a total of 1,681,985 electorates out of which 743,036 are females and 938,949 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments and is one of the six parliamentary constituencies representing the Mumbai Metropolitan. The city of Mumbai is the capital of Maharashtra and is also India’s most populated city as well as the world’s fourth most densely populated city. It has a total area of 4,355 sq km and has an altitude of only 14 m. It is situated along the Arabian Sea on the west coast of India.

According to 2011 India census data, it has a total population of 18,414,288 of which male and female population are 9,894,088 and 8,520,200. Mumbai boasts of an average literacy rate of 90.78% with male and female literacy rate of 93.85% and 87.19% respectively. The city has a sex ratio of 852 females for every 1000 males and a population density of 20,482 inhabitants per sq km. More than fifteen languages are spoken here including Marathi, Hindi, English, Urdu and Gujarati. About 67.39% of the population is Hindu while several other ethnic groups also reside here. It is the richest city of India and is also home to the Hindi Film Industry, Bollywood. National Highways NH-3, NH-4, NH-8, NH-17 and NH-22 are connected to the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mumbai-North-Central Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mumbai-North-Central parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mumbai North Central constituency is Poonam Mahajan Alias Poonam Vajendla Rao of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201429Mumbai-North-CentralGENPoonam Mahajan Alias Poonam Vajendla RaoFBJP478535Dutt Priya SunilFINC291764
200929Mumbai-North-CentralGENSmt. Priya Sunil DuttFINC319352Mahesh Ram JethmalaniMBJP144797
20046Mumbai-North-CentralGENEknath M. GaikwadMINC256282Manohar Gajanan JoshiMSHS242953
19996Mumbai-North-CentralGENManohar Gajanan JoshiMSHS294935Raja DhaleMBBM125940
19986Mumbai-North-CentralGENRamdas AthawaleMRPI282373Narayan AthawalayMSHS257141
19966Mumbai-North-CentralGENNarayan Gajanan AthawaleMSHS242536Sharad Shankar DigheMINC153337
19916Mumbai-North-CentralGENDighe Sharad ShankarMINC180084Vidyadhar GokhaleMSHS165872
19896Mumbai-North-CentralGENVidyadhar Sambhaji GokhaleMSHS254841Dighe Sharad ShankarMINC246656
19846Mumbai-North-CentralGENDighe Sharad ShankarMINC211443Manohar JoshiMBJP79345
19806Bombay North CentralGENPramila Madhu DandvateMJNP186355Hoshing VasantraoMINC(I)176544
19776Bombay North CentralGENAhilya P. RangnekarMCPM228123Bhandare R. D.MINC158208
19623Bombay North Central(SC)Narayan Sadoba KajrolkarMINC145696Gopal Kaluji ManayMREP91552

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mumbai-North-Central Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mumbai-North-Central parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Vile ParleChandivaliKurla (SC)
Vandre EastVandre WestKalina

Mumbai North Central Latest News And Live Updates

Hurt by Rane's personal comments: Prithviraj Chavan
July 30, 2014 09:40 AM
Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan said that he was hurt by former industry minister Narayan Rane's personal comments against him. "Yes, I was hurt when Narayan Rane made personal comments against me but the interest of my party was my priority," Chavan said in an interview with IBN Lokmat news channel.   Source: IANS
Uddhav slams Karnataka Police for anti-Marathi stand
July 28, 2014 04:13 PM
Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray said the Maharashtra-Karnataka territorial row is as significant as the India-Pakistan boundary dispute, re-kindling the decades old boundary dispute between the two states. In an editorial in the party's mouthpiece Saamana, Uddhav said the atrocities on Marathi people in the state by Karnataka Police were "as horrifying as the terror spread by Hafez Saeed", referring to the international terror mastermind of Jamaat-ud-Dawa, based in Pakistan. Source: IANS
Bullet Trains in Mumbai - Ahmedabad Sector
July 08, 2014 12:55 PM
High speed bullet trains announced by Railway Minister D. V. Sadanand Gowda for Mumbai - Ahmedabad Sector and allocates Rs 100 crore for high speed railway networks. A long cherished dream about to be achieved says GowdaSource: various media sources. 
BJP-Shiv Sena emerge supreme in Maharashtra
May 16, 2014 08:06 PM
The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance is poised to bag around 42 of the 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, giving an unprecedented jolt to the Congress-Nationalist Congress Party. While the Congress was relegated to just two wins at 6 in the evening, the NCP managed four wins, with one still awaiting the final tally as counting continued. Source: IANS
Re-poll ordered in 4 Maharashtra polling stations
April 26, 2014 03:38 PM
The state election commission today said re-polling in four polling stations, of which three are in Mumbai, will be held on Sunday. The polling stations are in Malad west, Kandivli west, both under Mumbai North parliamentary constituency, and another at Chandivali Asalfa Pipeline Road in Mumbai North-Central constituency. Source: IANS

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright All right reserved