Track your constituency

Mavelikkara General Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019

Mavelikara , a parliamentary constituency reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled sastes is a part of the coastal Indian state of Kerala. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Mavelikkara Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 16) were
1,142,993 of which 602,524 are females and 540,469 are males. Being a popular vote bank of the Congress, this constituency is situated in the Alappuzha district in the state. Mavelikara, also called Mavelikkara, is the taluk and municipality of this district. Thus this municipality of Mavelikara, which is called the Cultural Capital of the Alappuzha district has its own Lok Sabha constituency by the same name.  

This taluk, housing as many as 28,440 people, is economically dependent on a number of industries, both small-scale and large-scale. Some of the most renowned industries situated in this municipality are the ALIND Switchgear in Mannar, KSRTC Regional Workshop and Bus Body Building Centre and Sangrose Laboratories which manufactures soft- gelatin capsules.  

After the delimitation of the assembly constituencies in 2008, the number of Vidhan Sabha seats allotted to the Mavelikara constituency is seven, out of which Kunnathur and Mavelikkara are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste category.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mavelikkara Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mavelikkara constituency is Shri Suresh Kodikunnil of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201416Mavelikkara(SC)Kodikunnil Suresh M INC 402432 Chengara Surendran M CPI 369695
200916Mavelikkara(SC)Kodikunnil,Shri Suresh MINC397211R.S AnilMCPI349163
200416MavelikkaraGENC. S. SujathaFCPM278281Ramesh ChennithalaMINC270867
199916MavelikkaraGENRamesh ChennithalaMINC310455Prof. Ninan KoshyMIND277012
199816MavelikkaraGENProf. P.J. KurienMINC275001Prof. Nainan KoshyMIND273740
199116MavelikkaraGENP.J. KurianMINC304519Suresh KurupMCPM279031
198916MavelikkaraGENP. J. KurienMINC334864Thampan ThomasMJD277682
198416MavelikkaraGENThampan ThomasMJNP232339T. N. Upendranatha KurupMIND231052
198016MavelikkaraGENP. J. KurienMINC(U)226645Thevally Madhavan PillaiMIND163523
197716MavelikkaraGENB. K. NairMINC238169B. G. VergheseMIND181617
197115MavelikkaraGENR. Balakrishna PillaiMKEC212210S. Ramachandran PillaiMCPM156683
196715MavelikkaraGENG. P. MangalathumadomMSSP147872M. P. S. V. Pillai MINC129178

Facts about current sitting MP of Mavelikkara Constituency

Name of MP Shri Suresh Kodikunnil
Age 56
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Higher Secondary, LL.B.
Activities of Shri Suresh Kodikunnil in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated NA
Private member bills passed NA
Questions asked NA
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mavelikkara Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Changanassery Kuttanad Mavelikara (SC)
Chengannur Kunnathur (SC) Kottarakkara

Last Updated on April 2, 2019