Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Poonjar (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Poonjar assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Poonjar Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
P C George Plathottam (won by: 27821 )
Political Party -

Poonjar Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Poonjar Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 IND WinnerP C George Plathottam 63621
2016 KEC(M) RunnerUpGeorgekutty Augusty 35800

List of candidates for Poonjar Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BSP, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, IUML, Independent etc. from the Poonjar Assembly Constituency in the Kerala Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Poonjar , Constituency No -(101)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
INDINDAdv. Indulekha Joseph
INDINDJames Joseph
INDINDJoseph P C Purathayil
INDINDAdv. P C Joseph Ponnattu
IND  IND P C George Plathottam
INDINDGeorge kutty Sebastian
INDINDGeorge Chacko
INDINDSiyam P Ashraf
KEC(M) KEC(M) Georgekutty Augusty
SUCI(C)SUCI(C)Raju Vattappara
WPIWPIP A Abdul Hakkim
PDPPDPNishad Nadakal
Kerala Janatha PartyKerala Janatha PartySanthosh Chennadu

About Poonjar Assembly Constituency

Poonjar is constituency No. 101 of Kerala legislative assembly. It is situated in Kottayam district and comes under the Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha constituency. It is an unreserved seat. The Pathanamthitta Lok Sabha constituency came into being in 2008 following delimitation.

According to the Election Commission of India, Poonjar assembly constituency has 1,67,928 registered voters. It comprises 83,979 male and 83,949 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, this seat was won by the Kerala Congress (Mani) party. KEC(M)'s P.C. George Plathottam, the winning candidate, secured 59,809 votes. Independent candidate Mohan Thomas was the nearest contender with 44,105 votes. The winning margin was 15,704 votes. The voter turnout was 70.16 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Poonjar Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Poonjar assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
195751PoonjarGENThomman T. A.MINC21279Chacko Vallikkappan (Jocob) MCPI9045
196051PoonjarGENT. A. ThommanMINC35722Kumara MenonMCPI14364
196587PoonjarGENP. D. ThommenMIND21975V. I. Purushothaman MIND14926
196787PoonjarGENK . M . GeorgeMKEC19944K . K . MenonMCPM 16386
197087PoonjarGENK. M. GeorgeMKEC26181V. T. Thomas MIND14042
197793PoonjarGENV. J. Joseph MKEC34770P. I. DevasiaMKCP21065
198093PoonjarGENP. C. George MKCJ25806V. J. JosephMKEC24658
198293PoonjarGENP. C. GeorgeMKCJ33844N. M. JosephMJNP23814
198793PoonjarGENN. M. JosephMJNP37604P. C. George MKEC 36528
199193PoonjarGENJoy AbrahamMKCM43936N.M. Joseph MJD 33518
199693PoonjarGENP.C.George MKEC48834Joy AbrahamMKEC(M)38698
200193PoonjarGENP C George Plathottom MKEC48499Adv. T.V. AbrahamMKEC(M)46605
200693PoonjarGENP C George (Plathottam) MKCS48795Adv. T V Abraham KaipanplackalMKEC(M)41158
2011101PoonjarGENP C George, PlathottamMKEC(M)59809Adv Mohan ThomasMIND44105

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency