Track your constituency

Kottayam (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

No query found

About Kottayam Assembly Constituency

Kottayam is constituency No. 97 of Kerala legislative assembly. This unreserved constituency is situated in Kottayam district and comes under the Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, there are 1,48,225 registered voters in Tirur constituency. It comprises 72,505 male and 75,720 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the CPI(M) won this seat by a slim margin of just 711 votes. Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, the winning CPI(M) candidate, got 53,825 votes. CPI(M) candidate V.N.Vasavan, the runner-up, got 53,114 votes. The voter turnout was 77.54 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kottayam Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kottayam assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
195741KottayamGENBhaskaran Nair P.MCPI23021Govindhan Nair M. P.MINC20750
196041KottayamGENM. P. Govindan NairMINC29020N. Raghava KurupMCPI27863
196584KottayamGENM. K. GeorgeMCPI(M)17880M. P. Govindan NairMINC14396
196784KottayamGENM . K . GeorgeMCPM25298M . P. G . NairMINC 16188
197084KottayamGENM. ThomasMCPM26147K. George ThomasMNCO14190
197790KottayamGENP. P. George MCPI35683M. ThomasMCPM32107
198090KottayamGENK. M. Abraham MCPM37588P. B. R. PillaiMJNP25624
198290KottayamGENN. SrinivasanMIND38886K. M. Abraham MCPM33548
198790KottayamGENT. K. RamakrishananMCPM55422Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan MINC 45896
199190KottayamGENT.K. RamakrishnanMCPM54182Cherian Philip MINC51500
199690KottayamGENT.K.Ramakrishnan MCPM52609Mohan SankarMINC45545
200190KottayamGENMercy Ravi FINC57795Vaikom ViswanMCPM45954
200690KottayamGENV N Vasavan MCPI(M)47731Ajay TharayilMINC47249
201197KottayamGENThiruvanchoor RadhakrishnanMINC53825V.N.VasavanMCPM53114

Last Updated on May 13, 2016