Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kochi (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kochi assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kochi Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
K J Maxi (won by: 1086 )
Political Party -

Kochi Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kochi Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 INC RunnerUpDominic Presentation 46881
2016 CPM WinnerK J Maxi 47967

List of candidates for Kochi Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BSP, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, IUML, Independent etc. from the Kochi Assembly Constituency in the Kerala Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kochi , Constituency No -(80)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BJPBJPPraveen Dhamodara Prabhu
INC INC Dominic Presentation
INDINDAbdul Samad
INDINDJohny Stephen
WPIWPIA.S. Muhammed
Socialist Democratic Party Of IndiaSocialist Democratic Party Of IndiaSulfikar Ali

About Kochi Assembly Constituency

Kochi is constituency No. 80 of Kerala legislative assembly. It is situated in Ernakulam district and comes under the Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency. This unreserved constituency came into being following delimitation in 2008.

According to the Election Commission of India, Kochi assembly constituency has 1,58,548 registered voters. It comprises 78,030 male and 80,518 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, INC candidate Dominic Presentation won this seat by securing 56,352 votes. The runner-up was CPI(M) candidate M.C. Josephine who got 39,849 votes. The winning margin was 16,503. The voter turnout was 66.61 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kochi Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kochi assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201180KochiGENDominic PresentationMINC56352M.C.JosephineMCPM39849

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency