Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kannur (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kannur assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kannur Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Ramachandran Kadannappalli (won by: 1196 )
Political Party -
Congress (Secular)

Kannur Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kannur Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 INC RunnerUpSatheesan Pacheni 53151
2016 Congress (Secular) WinnerRamachandran Kadannappalli 54347

List of candidates for Kannur Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BSP, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, IUML, Independent etc. from the Kannur Assembly Constituency in the Kerala Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kannur , Constituency No -(11)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
INC INC Satheesan Pacheni
INDINDRamachandran Thayale Purayil
INDINDRamachandran Potheravalappil
INDINDSatheesan Edathil Veedu
INDINDSatheesan Pazhayadath
INDINDK Sudhakaran
Congress (Secular)  Congress (Secular) Ramachandran Kadannappalli
WPIWPIC P Rahna Teacher

About Kannur Assembly constituency

Kannur is constituency No. 11 of Kerala legislative assembly. This assembly seat is situated in Kannur district and comes under the Lok Sabha constituency that goes by the same name. It is an unreserved constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Kannur has 1,43,828 registered voters. It comprises 63,790 male and 80,038 female registered voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, this seat went to the Indian National Congress. A.P. Abdullakutty, the winning candidate, secured 55,427 votes. Ramachandran Kadannappalli, the main contender, got 48,984 votes. The winning margin was 6,443 votes. The voter turnout was 78.82 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kannur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kannur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2009By PollsKannurGENA.P.AbdullakuttyMINC53987M.V.JayarajanMCPI (M)41944
201111KannurGENA.P AbdullakuttyMINC55427Ramachandran KadannappalliMIND48984

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency