Track your constituency

Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

The Udupi Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency of Karnataka is one of the 28 Lok Sabha constituencies in this southern Indian state.  It is named the Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency as the assembly segments which comprise this constituency are spread over the two districts of Udupi and Chikmagalur. The Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 15) has a total of 1,224,335 electorates out of which 629,570 are females and 594,765 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports.

While Udupi city is the administrative seat of power of the Udupi district, the city of Chikmagalur is the administrative centre of the Chikmagalur District. According to the Delimitation Commission of India which implemented the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Constituencies Order of 2008, this parliamentary constituency came into existence in the year 2008. Further, as per the Delimitation Commission of India, the number of Assembly constituencies of the Udupi- Chikmagalur Parliamentary constituency has been divided into eight assembly segments, out of which Mudigere is reserved for scheduled caste candidates. While Sringeri, Mudigere, Chikmagalur and Tarikere together come under the Chikmagalur district, the remaining assembly segments belong to the district of Udupi.

Though the region of this Lok Sabha constituency has a rich agricultural base that provides the districts its economy, heavy chemical and software industries are also flourishing in this region. Coffee cultivation is another primary activity in this region, which is controlled by the Coffee Board.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Udupi Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Udupi Chikmagalur constituency is Shri Shobha Karandlaje of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategorywinner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201415Udupi ChikmagalurGENShobha Karandlaje F BJP 581168 K Jayaprakash Hegde M INC 399525
2012By PollsUdupi ChikmagalurGENK.J. HegdeMINC398723S. Kumar V.MBJP352999
200915Udupi ChikmagalurGENJayaprakash Korgi HegdeMINC401441D.V.Sadananda GowdaMBJP374423
200418UdupiGENManorama MadhwarajFBJP369627Vinaya Kumar SorakeMINC340624
199918UdupiGENVinay Kumar SorakeMINC352326I.M. Jayaram ShettyMBJP320739
199818UdupiGENI.M.Jayarama ShettyMBJP341466Oscar FernandesMINC284898
199618UdupiGENOscar FernandesMINC235932I M Jayarama ShettyMBJP233478
199118UdupiGENOscar FernandesMINC234120A. Rukmayya PoojaryMBJP146308
198918UdupiGENOscar PernandesMINC313849M.SanjeevaMJD161656
198418UdupiGENOscar FernandesMINC287412K. S. HegdeMBJP145076
198018UdupiGENOscar FernandesMINC(I)261738V.S. AcharyaMJNP101769
197718UdupiGENT. A. PaiMINC224788V. S. AcharyaMBLD121326
197117UdupiGENP. Ranganath ShenoyMINC182409J. M. Lobo PrabhuMSWA54644
196717UdupiGENJ. M. L. PrabhuMSWA122836S. S. Kolkebail MINC91526
196215UdupiGENU. Srinivasa MallayaMINC117027D. Mohan Rao MPSP104161
195723UdupiGENSrinivasa Malliah UMINC122754Mohan Rao D.MPSP93451

List of Assembly Constituencies in Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Udupi Chikmagalur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
KarkalSringeriMudigere (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015