Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Dharwad Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Formed in the year 2008, the Dharwad Lok Sabha constituency has remained in the hands of the BJP from the first election it fought in 2009. Dharwad is one of the 28 parliamentary segments which belong to the southern Indian state of Karnataka. The Dharwad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11) consists of 1,411,500 number of electorates in totality, of these 723,069 are males and 688,431 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Eight legislative assembly segments constitute it, out of which Hubli-Dharwad-East is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates.

These eight Vidhan Sabha segments were earlier part of the Dharwad North and Dharwad South Lok Sabha constituencies, respectively, both of which ceased to exist following the Delimitation Commission’s orders of 2008. This constituency belongs to the district of Dharwad, which has been, since the ancient times, renowned as a gateway and a resting place for travelers. In around the 12th century A.D., this region of Dharwad is said to have been ruled by the Chalukyas, and was later captured by the Bahamani rulers, before finally being annexed into the kingdom of Vijayanagara in the 14th century. This district has a fairly sparse population, numbering 1,846,993 (2011 Census). Agriculture is the backbone of the economy, with major crops being rice, wheat, jowar, onion, maize and cotton. The APMC Market in Hubli is the primary trading centre for the agricultural produce.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dharwad Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dharwad parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dharwad constituency is Shri Pralhad Joshi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201411DharwadGENPralhad Joshi M BJP 545395 Vinay Kulkarni M INC 431738
200911DharwadGENPralhad Venkatesh JoshiMBJP446786Kunnur Manjunath ChannappaMINC309123
200424Dharwad NorthGENPralhad JoshiMBJP385084B S PatilMINC302006
199924Dharwad NorthGENVijay SankeshwarMBJP345197Veeranna A.MattikattiMINC303595
199824Dharwad NorthGENVijay SankeshwarMBJP339660D.K.NaikarMINC210459
199624Dharwad NorthGENVijay SankeshwarMBJP228572Munavalli Shankaranna IshwarappaMJD188221
199124Dharwad NorthGEND.K. NaikarMINC157682Bellad ChandrakantMBJP135891
198924Dharwad NorthGEND.K.NaikarMINC276545Chandrakant BelladMJD220997
198423Dharwad NorthGENNaikar Dyamappa KallappaMINC229865S. I. ShettarMJNP185014
198024Dharwad NorthGEND.K. NaikarMINC(I)208269Mahishi Sarojini BinduraoFJNP111575
197724Dharwad NorthGENMahishi Sarojini BinduraoFINC205627Joshi Jaganath Rao AnantMBLD151199
197123Dharwar NorthGENSarojini Bindurao MahishiMINC189382Wali Rachapa GangappaMNCO91313
196723Dharwar NorthGENM. S. BinduraoMINC169173J. R. AnantraoMBJS81743
19629Dharwar NorthGENSarojini Bindurao MahishiMINC187654Veerayya Virabasayya Shivalli MSWA34104
19575Dharwar NorthGENKarmarkar Dattatraya ParashuramMINC123622Munavalli Basappa NagappaMIND58259
195132Dharwar NorthGENKarmaka Dattatraya ParsuramraoMINC129077Kambli Siddappa TotappaMKMPP87206

Facts about current sitting MP of Dharwad Constituency

Name of MP Shri Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi
Age 54
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A.
Activities of Shri Pralhad Venkatesh Joshi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 90
Private member bills passed 5
Questions asked 379
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Dharwad Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dharwad parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Hubli-Dharwad-East (SC)Hubli-Dharwad-CentralHubli-Dharwad-West

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency