Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Chitradurga Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Covering the entire district of Chitradurga and a portion of the Tumkur District is the Lok Sabha constituency of Chitradurga. It is one of the 28 Lok Sabha segments in the southern Indian state of Karnataka, and is reserved for SC candidates. 1,534,169 is the total electorate count in the Chitradurga Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 18). Out of these 779,895 number of electorates are males and the remaining 754,274 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. Out of the eight Assembly segments which comprise this constituency, Sira and Pavagada are geographically situated in the Tumkur District, while the remaining are part of the Chitradurga District.

The assembly segments which are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalized sections of the society are Molakalmuru, Holalkere, Challakere and Pavagada. A Congress stronghold, Chitradurga survives on an agrarian economy. However, the government has recognized the Chitradurga district as one of the 250 economically- backward regions of the country. Therefore, it is being funded under special schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. This district is famous for its Chitradurga Fort, which is historically important.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chitradurga Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chitradurga parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chitradurga constituency is Shri B.N.Chandrappa of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201418Chitradurga(SC)B.N.Chandrappa M INC 467511 Janardhana Swamy M BJP 366220
200918Chitradurga(SC)Swamy,Shri Janardhana MBJP370920Dr. B ThippeswamyMINC235349
20047ChitradurgaGENN.Y. HanumanthappaMINC322609Kodandaramaiah PMJD(S)285149
19997ChitradurgaGENShashi KumarMJD(U)370793C.P.MudalagiriyappaMINC359615
19987ChitradurgaGENC.P.Mudala GiriyappaMINC321930P.KodandaramaiahMLS263609
19967ChitradurgaGENP.KodandaramaiahMJD251617C P MudalagiriyappaMINC232235
19917ChitradurgaGENC.P. MudalagiriyappaMINC302847L.G. HavanuraMBJP220335
19897ChitradurgaGENC.P.MudalagiriyappaMINC339303M.Sanna ChikkappaMJD197110
19847ChitradurgaGENK. H. RanganathMINC279146B. L. GowdaMJNP222335
19807ChitradurgaGENK. MallannaMINC(I)215180B.L. GowdaMJNP105819
19777ChitradurgaGENK. MallannaMINC227926H. C. BoraiahMBLD141272

Facts about current sitting MP of Chitradurga Constituency

Name of MP Shri B.N. Chandrappa
Age 63
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A. (Sociology)
Activities of Shri B.N. Chandrappa in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 44
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 282
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chitradurga Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chitradurga parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Molakalmuru (ST)Challakere (ST)Chitradurga
HiriyurHosadurgaHolalkere (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency