Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Haryana Assembly Election Results in 1982

In 1982, the Indian national Congress, despite being in minority, was invited by the then Haryana Governor, G.D. Tapase to form the government. As a result, Bhajan Lal was sworn in as Chief Minister on May 23, 1982. He held the office till June 4, 1986. Bhajan Lal retained the Chief Minister’s office for 12 years in three tenures. His first two terms were from 1979-82 and 1982-85. He became the CM again in 1991 and remained in the office till 1996.

He had been a central point in the state’s politics, representing the non-Jats of Haryana. Following are some of his contributions towards the state:
He introduced the Sutlej-Yamuna link (SYL) water share agreement in order to resolve the water crisis in southern Haryana. He encouraged establishment of Maruti Udyog Limited (India's largest automobile manufacturer), Hero MotoCorp (the world's largest manufacturer of two-wheelers) and the Escorts group (tractor manufacturers) industries in Haryana.The Gurgaon-Manesar blueprint was also his idea.

Asia's biggest agricultural university, the Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, is located in Hissar. Bhajan Lal believed that education is the greatest asset to a child. He strove to provide free education for girls through the Apni Beti Apna Dhan scheme.

List of Successful Candidates in Haryana Assembly Election in 1982

A.C No.Assembly Constituency NameType of A.C.Winner Candidates NameGenderParty
1KalkaGENLachhman SinghMIND
2NaraingarhGENLal SinghMIND
4ChhachhrauliGENRoshan LalMLKD
5YamunanagarGENRajesh KumarMINC
6AgadhariGENOm PrakashMINC
7Mullana(SC)Phool ChandMIND
8Ambala Cantt.GENRam Dass DhamijaMINC
9Ambala CityGENShiv PrasadMBJP
10NaggalGENNirmal SinghMINC
12NilokheriGENChanda SinghMIND
13KarnalGENShanti DeviFINC
14Jundla(SC)Sujan SinghMLKD
15GharaundaGENVed PalMINC
16Assandh(SC)Manphool SinghMLKD
17PanipatGENFateh ChandMBJP
18SamalkhaGENKatar SinghMINC
19NaulthaGENPrasani DeviFINC
20ShahabadGENTara SinghMINC
21Radaur(SC)Ram SinghMIND
22ThanesarGENSahab SinghMLKD
23PehowaGENPiara SinghMINC
24Guhla(SC)Dilu RamMLKD
25KaithalGENRoshan LalMIND
26PundriGENShwar SinghMINC
27PaiGENNar SinghMLKD
28HassangarhGENBananti DeviFLKD
29KiloiGENHari ChandMLKD
30RohtakGENMangal SainMBJP
31MehamGENDevi LalMLKD
32Kalanaur(SC)Kartar DeviFINC
33BeriGENOm ParkashMLKD
34SalhawasGENHukam SinghMIND
35Hajjar(SC)Banarsi DassMLKD
36BadliGENDhirpal SinghMLKD
37BahadurgarhGENMange RamMLKD
38Baroda(SC)Bhale RamMLKD
39GohanaGENKitab SinghMLKD
40KailanaGENRajinder SinghMIND
41SonipatGENDevi DassMBJP
42RaiGENJaswant SinghMINC
43RohatGENBhim SinghMLKD
44Kalayat(SC)Jogi RamMLKD
45NarwanaGENShamsher SinghMINC
46Uchana KalanGENBirender SinghMINC
47RajondGENDaya NandMINC
48JindGENBrij MohanMLKD
49JulanaGENKulbir SinghMLKD
50SafidonGENKundan LalMINC
51FaridabadGENA. C. Chaudhary MINC
52Mewla MaharajpurGENMahendra Pratap SinghMLKD
53BallabhgarhGENSharda RaniFIND
54PalwalGENKalyan SinghMINC
55Hasanpur(SC)Gir Raj KishoreMLKD
56HathinGENAzmat KhanMJNP
57Ferozepur JhirkaGENShakrullaMINC
58NuhGENRahim KhanMIND
59TaoruGENKabir AhmadMINC
60SohnaGENVijay Vir SinghMIND
61GurgaonGENDharam BirMINC
62Pataudi(SC)Mohan LalMINC
63BadhraGENChandra WatiFLKD
64DadriGENHukam SinghMLKD
65Mundhal KhurdGENBalbir SinghMLKD
66BhiwaniGENSagar RamMINC
67ToshamGENSurender SinghMINC
68LoharuGENHira NandMLKD
69Bawani Khera(SC)Amar SinghMLKD
70BarwalaGENInder Singh NainMINC
71NarnaundGENVirender SinghMLKD
72HansiGENAmir ChandMLKD
73Bhattu KalanGENSampat SinghMIND
74HisarGENOm Parkash MahajanMIND
75GhiraiGENKanwal SinghMLKD
76TohanaGENHarpal SinghMINC
77Ratia(SC)Neki RamMINC
78FatehabadGENGobind RaiMINC
79AdampurGENBhajan LalMINC
80Darba KalanGENBahadur SinghMINC
81Ellenabad(SC)Bhagi RamMLKD
82SirsaGENLachhman Das AroraMIND
83RoriGENJagdish MehraMINC
84Dabwali(SC)Goverdhan Dass ChouhanMINC
86RewariGENRam SinghMIND
87JatusanaGENInderjeet SinghMINC
88MahendragarhGENRam BilasMBJP
89AteliGENNihal SinghMIND
90NarnaulGENPhusa RamMINC

List of Participating Political Parties in Haryana Assembly Election in 1982

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1 BJPBhartiya Janta Party
2 CPI Communist Party of India
3 CPM Communist Party of India (Marxist)
4 ICSIndian Congress (Socialist)
5 INC Indian National Congress
6 JNP Janata Party
7 LKDLok Dal
8 IND Independents

Last Updated on October 19, 2014

Track your constituency