Track your constituency

East Delhi General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Elections Latest News And Updates

Top VIP Contests in Second Phase Top VIP Contests in Second Phase

A former Prime Minister, four Union Ministers, and several high-profile first-timers are among more than 1,629 candidates setting the stage for a number of riveting encounters in the second round Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Phase 2 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Second Phase Live Updates

Live Updates – Lok Sabha Elections Phase 2 7:59:13 PM Final Update for the Day – Final Voter Turnout State – Wise State Voter Turnout (%) Assam 73.32 Bihar 58.14 Read More…

Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 – Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The largest festival of the democracy is underway since last Thursday. The second phase of polling for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 began today morning. A total of 95 constituencies across Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly Elections and Assembly By-Polls in Odisha

Live Udates: State Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar informed that 64 per cent voter turnout has been recorded till 5 PM in the second phase polls in Odisha. 5:05:35 PM Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly By-polls in Tamil Nadu

Live Updates: Tamil Nadu registered 63.73 per cent polling for the 38 Lok Sabha seats on Thursday. Arani Lok Sabha seat registered 76.49 per cent turnout and the voting percentage in Read More…

Why Uttar Pradesh will decide the road to Lok Sabha for BJP in 2019 Elections BJP Might Lose 50-60 Seats in Uttar Pradesh – A Mathematical Perspective?

Lok Sabha 2019 Elections – the battle has already begun and parties are pushing hard to convert the rally crowd into votes. One common theme of these elections is Modi Read More…

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
AAPEast DelhiAtishi

The East Delhi Lok Sabha seat is a deciding parliamentary constituency in the political ambiance of the country, as it has had some of the important MPs in the seat, who have determined the politics of India to a considerable extent. The total number of electorates in the East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 3) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,604,795 of which 892,934 are males and 711,861 are females. Its present MP is Sandeep Dikshit, the son of former Chief Minister of Delhi Sheila Dikshit. Formed in the year 1966, the East Delhi contested its first Lok Sabha elections immediately the year after, in 1967.
Housing a population of 17,07,725 people, the East Delhi parliamentary constituency is one of the most thickly populated regions of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. Traversed by the Yamuna River, the East Delhi parliamentary constituency covers expansive regions of Delhi such as Shahdara, Gandhi Bagar, Preet Vihar and Seelampur. According to the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Constituencies Order of 2008, as approved by the Delimitation Commission of India, the reorganization of the assembly segments was done in 2008, to decide on 10 assembly segments which make up the parliamentary constituency of East Delhi.  

The total number of voters in the constituency is approximately 16 lakh people. The Bharatiya Jana Sangh won the constituency in the first elections held to the seat in 1967.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs East Delhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of East Delhi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the East Delhi constituency is Maheish Girri of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20143East DelhiGENMaheish GirriMBJP572202Rajmohan GandhiMAAP381739
20093East DelhiGENDikshit,Shri Sandeep MINC518001Chetan ChauhanMBJP276948
20044East DelhiGENSandeep DikshitMINC669527Lal Bihari TiwariMBJP439748
19994East DelhiGENLal Bihari TiwariMBJP521434Avm H.L.KapurMINC438674
19984East DelhiGENLal Bihari TiwariMBJP563083Sheila DikshitMINC517721
1997By PollsEast DelhiGENLal Bihari Tiwari MBJP264550Dr. Ashok Kumar Walia MINC142027
19964East DelhiGENB.L. Sharma (Prem)MBJP538655Deep Chand BandhuMINC386156
19914East DelhiGENB.L. Sharma Prem'MBJP303141H.K.L. BhagatMINC241316
19894East DelhiGENH. K. L. BhagatMINC359602Chand RamMIND183603
19844East DelhiGENH.K.L. BhagatMINC386150Kishore LalMJNP73970
19804East DelhiGENH.K.L. BhagatMINC(I)228727Kishore LalMJNP141019
19774East DelhiGENKishore LalMBLD240594H.K.L. BhagatMINC107487
19714East DelhiGENH. K. L. BhagatMINC146632Hardyal Devgun MBJS72382
19674East DelhiGENHardayal DevgunMBJS83261B. MohanMINC77645

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in East Delhi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in East Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Jangpura Patparganj Krishna Nagar
Okhla Laxmi Nagar Gandhi Nagar
Trilokpuri Vishwas Nagar Shahdara

Last Updated on Last Updated on April 4, 2019