Track your constituency

Nawgong Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Nowgong parliamentary constituency, presently referred to as Nagaon, is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies that are representative of the north-eastern state of Assam in the Parliament.
The Nawgong Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 10) consists of 1,411,331 number of electorates in totality, of these 726,396 are males and 684,935 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Situated in the Nagaon district in the central regions of Assam, this parliamentary constituency is part of the Municipal Board in the Nagaon city.

The Nowgong or Nagaon parliamentary constituency houses the famous Kalang River, a tributary of the Brahmaputra in north-eastern India. In its importance as an administrative and urban set-up, the Nowgong city as part of the Nowgong parliamentary constituency, ranks fifth not only in size, but also in commercial significance in the state, after the cities of Guwahati, Silchar, Dibrugarh and Jorhat.

This constituency has been a stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party since 1999. Nine assembly segments make up the Lok Sabha seat of Nowgong, out of which the segments of Raha and Jagiroad are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste community. The Nagaon city in Assam is well known across the country, for its exceptionally advanced literacy rates, which are unparalleled. Being one of Assam's most populated cities with a population of 1,47,231 people, the average literacy rate in Nagaon is 93.43% wherein male and female literacy rates are as high as 98.58% and 88.08% , respectively. The Nagaon district has a population of 28,26,006 as per 2011 Census data.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Nawgong Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Nawgong parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Nawgong constituency is Shri Rajen Gohain of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201410NowgongGENRajen Gohain M BJP 494146 Jonjonali Baruah M INC 350587
200910NowgongGENGohain,Shri Rajen MBJP380921Anil RajaMINC335541
200410NowgongGENRajen GohainMBJP342704Bisnu PrasadMINC311292
199910NowgongGENRajen GohainMBJP328861Nripen GoswamiMINC293433
199810NowgongGENNripen GoswamiMINC267448Rajen GohainMBJP229664
199610NowgongGENMuhi Ram SaikiaMAGP263649Nazneen FaruqueMINC209521
199110NowgongGENMuhiram SaikiaMAGP151481Bishnu PrasadMINC138564
198510NowgongGENMuhiram SaikiaMIND229377Haji Abdur RoufMIND193747
197710NowgongGENDev Kanta BorooahMINC176605Indreswar GoswamiMBLD122386
197110NowgongGENLiladhar KotokiMINC132209Phani Bora MCPI49392
196710NowgongGENL. KetekiMINC103752K. BoraMCPI57086
19629NowgongGENLiladhar KotokiMINC97942Sukdev Goswami MIND72967
19577NowgongGENKataki LiladharMINC119002 Goswami Sukadev MIND53947
19517NowgongGENBarooah, Dev Kanta MINC79673Goswami Lakshmi Prasad MSP46829

Facts about current sitting MP of Nawgong Constituency

Name of MP Shri Rajendra Agrawal Gohain
Age 68
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A., LL.B.
Activities of Shri Rajendra Agrawal Gohain in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 28
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 23
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Nawgong Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Nawgong parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Jagiroad (SC)MorigaonLaharighat
Raha (SC)NagaonBarhampur

Last Updated on March 16, 2019