Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Karimganj Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Caste community, the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency is one of the most politically vibrant and historic Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam. The total number of electorates in the Karimganj Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,068,811 of which 562,597 are males and 506,214 are females.
It is spread across the entire district of Karimganj, which is an administrative district of Assam.

The historically rich city of Karimganj is also the administrative headquarters of the district, besides being the municipal board and main town of the eponymous district. Karimganj played a pivotal role during the anti-British struggle for independence in the country, especially during the Partition phase, when Karimganj was reorganized to become part of the new country of East Pakistan. The Karimganj district, as we know it today, became a district in Assam only in the year 1983. This parliamentary constituency is situated on the south-western regions of the state, and is an entry point to the state of Tripura. With a population of over 12 lakh people, the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency is one of the most influential centres of trade and commerce in the state, owing to its expansive river ports, which act as a bridge between India and Bangladesh. Eight Assembly constituencies, which are further divided into 96 Gram Panchayats, make up the Karimganj Parliamentary constituency. The total number of voters in the constituency, according to the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, is 6,85,420.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Karimganj Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Karimganj parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Karimganj constituency is Radheshyam Biswas of AUDF.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Karimganj(SC)Radheshyam Biswas M AUDF 362866 Krishna Das M BJP 260772
20091Karimganj(SC)Suklabaidya,Shri Lalit Mohan MINC259717Rajesh MallahMAUDF251797
20041Karimganj(SC)Lalit Mohan SuklabaidyaMINC321059Parimal Sukla BaidyaMBJP229111
19991Karimganj(SC)Nepal Chandra DasMINC336799Parimal SuklabaidyaMBJP294540
19981Karimganj(SC)Nepal Chandra DasMINC288643Swapan Kumar DasMBJP278175
19961Karimganj(SC)Dwaraka Nath DasMBJP224229Sabita DasMINC191480
19911Karimganj(SC)Dwarka Nath DasMBJP231810Jatindra Chandra DasMJD182057
19851Karimganj(SC)Sudarsan DasMICS230823Nihar Ranjan LaskarMINC156402
19801Karimganj(SC)Nihar Ranjan LaskarMINC(I)130933Kamdeb DasMCPM58146
19771Karimganj(SC)Nihar Ranjan LaskarMINC127454Lilamoy DasMBLD97154
19712Karimganj(SC)Nihar Ranjan LaskarMINC149328Harinarayan RabidasMCPM27582
19672Karimganj(SC)N. R. LaskarMINC171048M. Choudhury MIND94125
19622Karimganj(SC)Nihar Ranjan LaskarMINC112584Mukteswar ChoudhuryMIND62059

Facts about current sitting MP of Karimganj Constituency

Name of MP Shri Radheshyam Biswas
Age 64
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India United Democratic Front
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter/Higher Secondary (Arts)
Activities of Shri Radheshyam Biswas in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 54
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 167
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Karimganj Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Karimganj parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Ratabari (SC)PatherkandiKarimganj North
Karimganj SouthBadarpurHailakandi
Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency
googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1463467692145-0'); });