Track your constituency

Jorhat Lok Sabha Elections Results 2019 Updates

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
BJPJorhatShri Tapan Gogai
INCJorhatSushanta Borgohain

Jorhat parliamentary constituency, representing the Jorhat district in the north-eastern state of Assam is one of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam. 1,182,349 is the total electorate count in the Jorhat Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 12).
Out of these 605,285 number of electorates are males and the remaining 577,064 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. Deriving its name from the 18th century usage to indicate two hats or mandis, Macharhat and Chowkihat, Jorhat is a crucial constituency in the state of Assam. It is located in the Jorhat District in the central-north regions of the state.

With a population of about 10,91,295 people, as per 2011 census data, Jorhat is the second most important city in Assam, preceded closely by Guhawati. It was not only the last capital of the Ahom Kingdom, but houses some prominent historical monuments upto the present day. Together with Tinsukia and Dibrugarh, Jorhat is known for production of the famous Assam Tea, popular across the world.

The economic backbone to the Jorhat Lok Sabha seat is provided not only by the tea gardens which adorn the region, but by innumerable small-scale and cottage industries such as furniture making, bamboo work, silver jewelry, packaged food manufacturing and various other economic activities. The Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency is not only an entry point to the upper regions of Assam but also to the state of Nagaland.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jorhat Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jorhat parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jorhat constituency is Kamakhya Prasad Tasa of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201412JorhatGENKamakhya Prasad Tasa M BJP 456420 Bijoy Krishna Handique M INC 354000
200912JorhatGENHandique,Shri Bijoy Krishna MINC362320Kamakhya TasaMBJP290406
200412JorhatGENBijoy Krishna HandiqueMINC223624Drupad BorgohainMCPI172332
199912JorhatGENBijoy Krishna HandiqueMINC304690Janaki Nath HandiqueMBJP205330
199812JorhatGENBijoy Krishna HandiqueMINC216406Deba Kumar BoraMAGP54397
199612JorhatGENBijoy Krishna HandiqueMINC311578Bhadreswar BuragohainMAGP264339
199112JorhatGENBijoy Krishna HanduquiMINC239369Paragehar ChalihaMAGP128706
198512JorhatGENParag ChalihaMIND288540Bijoy Krishna HandiqueMINC189787
197712JorhatGENTarun GogoiMINC148902Dulal Chandra BaruaMBLD120215
197112JorhatGENTarun GogoiMINC102820Khogen Bar Baruah MRCI31810
196712JorhatGENR. BaruaMINC92519M. C. Barua MPSP47741
196210JorhatGENRajendra Nath BaruahMPSP78091Mofida AhmedMINC77184
19578JorhatGENAhmed MofidaMINC80028Syed Abdul (Malik) MCPI33713

Facts about current sitting MP of Jorhat Constituency

Name of MP Shri Kamakhya Prasad Tasa
Age 43
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A. (Pol. Science)
Activities of Shri Kamakhya Prasad Tasa in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 38
Private member bills passed 2
Questions asked 89
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Jorhat Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jorhat parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on May 19, 2019