Who will WIN Phase 1 of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Karimganj South (Assam) Election Results 2016

Voter Turnout And Poll Percentage of Karimganj South Assembly Election 2016

Assembly Constituency Total Voters in the Assembly Constituency Voter Turnout Percentage of Votes
AC No.AC NameMaleFemaleTotalMaleFemaleTotalMaleFemaleTotal
4Karimganj South8457476058160632671346094712808179.38%80.13%79.74%

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Karimganj-south assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Karimganj-south Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Aziz Ahmed Khan (won by: 4416)
Political Party -

Karimganj South Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Karimganj South Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AIUDF WinnerAziz Ahmed Khan 58060
2016 INC RunnerUpSiddeque Ahmed 53644

List of candidates for Karimganj South Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BJP, AIUDF, AGP, Congress, BPF, Independent etc. from the Karimganj South Assembly Constituency in the Assam Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Karimganj South , Constituency No -(4)
Election Date04/04/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
AIUDF AIUDF Aziz Ahmed Khan
BJPBJPSipra Goon
INC INC Siddeque Ahmed
INDINDAzir Uddin
INDINDAbu Barkat Nizam Uddin Ahmed
INDINDAbdul Hamid
INDINDKabir Uddin
INDINDQuamrul Islam
INDINDJamal Ahmed
INDINDTaj Md Kamal Uddin Khan
INDINDFaizul Haque
INDINDBilal Uddin
INDINDMoin Uddin
INDINDMonarul Haque
INDINDMosud Ahmed
INDINDMaynul Haque
INDINDMuktar Hussain
INDINDSabir Ahmed
INDINDSarif Uddin
INDINDSahajan Ahmed
INDINDSufian Ahmed
INDINDSalim Uddin

About Karimganj South Assembly Constituency

Karimganj South is constituency No. 4 of Assam legislative assembly. It is situated in Karimganj district and comes under the Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, this constituency has 1,44,103 registered voters. It comprises 75,329 male and 68,774 female registered voters.

The Congress won this seat in the 2011 Assembly elections. Siddeque Ahmed, the winning Congress candidate, got 45,395 votes. The nearest contender was Ekbal Hussain of Trinamool Congress who got 22,282 votes. The winning margin was 23,113, that is, 22.11% of the total valid votes. The voter turnout was 72.56 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Karimganj South Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Karimganj South assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGender PartyVotesRunner Up GenderPartyVotes
20114Karimganj SouthGENSiddeque AhmedMINC45395Ekbal Hussain M AITC 22282
20064Karimganj SouthGENSiddeque AhmedMIND29007Sipra Goon F BJP 21372
20014Karimganj SouthGENSiddeque AhmedMSAP31639Abdul Muqtadir Choudhury M INC 28280
19964Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Muqtadir Choudhury MINC43158Biswarup Bhattacharjee M BJP 30008
19914Karimganj SouthGENPranab Kumar NathMBJP24020Makbul Ali M AGP 23280
19854Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Muqtadir ChoudhuryMINC24002Nikhil Kanti Das M IND 20554
19834Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Muqtadir ChoudhuryMINC24328Abdul Khalique Talukdar M IND 19922
19784Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Muqtadir ChoudhuryMINC19047Nikhil Kanti Das M IND 12988
19727Karimganj South(SC)Sudarsan DasMINC19020Gopesh Namasudra M CPI 10626
19677Karimganj South(SC)P. ChoudhuryMINC17559G. Namasudra M IND 13992
19626Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Munim ChowdhuryMINC9881Jajneswar Das M CPI 6914
1960By PollsKarimganj SouthGENMoulvi.M.AliMINC6344J. Das M COM 6142
19575Karimganj SouthGENAbdul Hamid ChowdhuryMINC13402Nanigopal Swami M IND 11382

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency