Track your constituency

Live News

Almora Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Almora Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ajay TamtaBharatiya Janata Party43045501419644465164.03Winner
Pradeep TamtaIndian National Congress2098360182921166530.481st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above153110194155052.232nd Runner-up
Sunder Dhoni (Advocate)Bahujan Samaj Party100590131101901.473rd Runner-up
Advocate Vimla AryaUttarakhand Parivartan Party529106053510.774th Runner-up
K.L. AryaUttarakhand Kranti Dal399106940600.585th Runner-up
Dropadi VermaUttarakhand Kranti Dal (Democratic)298106930500.446th Runner-up

One of the five Lok Sabha Constituencies of the state of Uttarakhand, Almora was formed before 1957 and comprises of fourteen legislative assembly
segments. The Almora Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 3) consists of 1,057,379 number of electorates in totality, of these 518,381 are males and 538,998 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. The city of Almora is the headquarters of the Almora District which is a part of the Kumaun Division and sprawls over an area of 3,082sq km at an elevation of over 1,600 m. The River Gori flows through here with the city of Delhi being 378 km away and Lucknow being 454 km away. Nainital is located about 65 km from the city. The district comprises of nine tehsils and is also the site of the infamous dance academy of Udai Shankar.

As per 2011 census data, it has a population of over 621,000 with 53% male majority and 47% of females. 11% of the population is below the age of six and the sex ratio is 1142 females for every 1000 males. It has an 85% Hindu majority. It has an average literacy rate of 81% and a population growth rate in negative. Hindi is the official language. There are several schools, colleges and universities in the area. Agriculture and tourism are important economic activities in Almora. The National Highway NH-87 passes through the district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Almora Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Almora parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Almora constituency is Shri Ajay Tamta of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20143Almora(SC)Ajay TamtaMBJP348186Pradeep TamtaMINC252496
20093Almora(SC)Tamta,Shri Pradeep MINC200824Ajay TamtaMBJP193874
20043AlmoraGENBachi Singh RawatMBJP225742Renuka RawatMINC215690

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Almora Constituency

Name of MP Shri Ajay Tamta
Age 46
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter (Science)
Activities of Shri Ajay Tamta in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 23
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 69
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Almora Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Almora parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Dharchula Didihat Pithoragarh

Last Updated on June 28, 2019