Track your constituency

Live News

Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Amethi Parliamentary Constituency Elections Result 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Smriti IraniBharatiya Janata Party467598091646851449.71Winner
Rahul GandhiIndian National Congress412867052741339443.861st Runner-up
Dhurv LalIndependent78160078160.832nd Runner-up
Afajal VarisBahujan Mukti Party61770661830.663rd Runner-up
Ram SajiwanIndependent56160056160.64th Runner-up
Dinesh KumarIndependent43010043010.465th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above39310939400.426th Runner-up
BhagwandeenIndependent38600038600.417th Runner-up
Gopal PrasadIndependent31770031770.348th Runner-up
Ram Sidh YadavManavtawadi Samaj Party30520330550.329th Runner-up
Lal BabuIndependent23180023180.2510th Runner-up
Harun RasheedIndependent20830220850.2211th Runner-up
Shiv Nandan SinghBharatiya Sampuran Krantikari Party19470119480.2112th Runner-up
Prem ShankarMoulik Adhikar Party17280117290.1813th Runner-up
Shatrunjai Pratap SinghLok Gathbandhan Party17160017160.1814th Runner-up
Hemant KumarIndependent15800015800.1715th Runner-up
Gopal Swaroop GandhiKisan Majdoor Berojgar Sangh15740015740.1716th Runner-up
Mo. Hasan LahariIndependent12240012240.1317th Runner-up
Ram MilanRashtriya Apna Dal11440011440.1218th Runner-up
Pankaj Ramkumar SingAkhand Rashtrawadi Party10570010570.1119th Runner-up
Vipin YadavIndependent10390010390.1120th Runner-up
Bas Deo MauryaCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star986029880.121th Runner-up
Durgesh SinghBharat Prabhat Party956029580.122th Runner-up
Nathu RamJanvadi Party(Socialist)846018470.0923th Runner-up
Suresh Kumar ShuklaIndependent779007790.0824th Runner-up
Saritha S. NairIndependent568015690.0625th Runner-up
Dr. U.P. ShivanandaIndependent546015470.0626th Runner-up
Shiv KumarIndependent495004950.0527th Runner-up

Amethi Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 80 Lok Sabha Constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, Amethi Parliamentary Constituency came into existence prior to the 1967 elections. The Amethi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 37) has a total of 1,431,787 electorates out of which 679,304 are females and 752,483 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It comprises of five Vidhan Sabha segments of which two are reserved for the SC category. It covers the entire district of Amethi, previously known as the Chatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar District, sprawls over an area of 3,070 sq km and has an elevation of 104 m. The district is divided into four tehsils and the city of Gauriganj is the center of administration. Amethi city lies at a distance of 40 km from Sultanpur. Hindi is the official language here while Awadhi is also widely spoken.

As per India census 2001, Amethi has a population of 12,808 with a 52% male majority and 48% of females. Muslims have a majority here. Amethi has a sex ratio of over 850 and a literacy rate of above 60%. Basic education facilities, including municipality schools and a handful of colleges are available here. The forest and its products play a very important role in the economic setup of the city. An extensive road network and railways connect it to several major areas of the country.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Amethi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Amethi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Amethi constituency is Shri Rahul Gandhi of INC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201437AmethiGENRahul GandhiMINC408651Smriti Zubin IraniMBJP300748
200937AmethiGENGandhi,Shri Rahul MINC464195Asheesh ShuklaMBSP93997
200421AmethiGENRahul GandhiMINC390179Chandra Parkash Mishra MatiyariMBSP99326
199925AmethiGENSonia GandhiFINC418960Dr.Sanjai SinghMBJP118948
199825AmethiGENSanjay SinghMBJP205025Captain Satish SharmaMINC181755
199625AmethiGENSatish SharmaMINC157868Raja Mohan SinghMBJP117725
199125AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC187138Ravindra PratapMBJP75053
1991Bye PolAmethiGENC. S. K. SharmaMINC178996M.M.SinghMBJP79687
198925AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC271407Raj Mohan GandhiMJD69269
198425AmethiGENRajiv GandhiMINC365041Maneka GandhiFIND50163
1981Bye PolAmethiGENRajeew GhandhiMINC(I)258884S.YadavMLKD21188
198025AmethiGENSanjay GandhiMINC(I)186990Ravindra Pratap SinghMJNP58445
197725AmethiGENRavindra Pratap SinghMBLD176410Sanjay GandhiMINC100566
197124AmethiGENVidya Dhar BajpaiMINC96312Gokul Prasad PathakMBJS21335
196724AmethiGENV. D. BajpaiMINC63231G. PrasadMBJS59566

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Amethi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Amethi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
TiloiSalon (SC)Jagdishpur (SC)

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021