Track your constituency

Live News

Agra Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Agra Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

Parliamentary ConstituencyCandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
AgraSatyapal Singh BaghelBharatiya Janata Party6444590241664687556.48Winner
AgraManoj Kumar SoniBahujan Samaj Party4341990113043532938.011st Runner-up
AgraPreeta HaritIndian National Congress448770272451493.942nd Runner-up
AgraNOTANone Of The Above578603158170.513rd Runner-up
AgraChandra PalAdarsh Samaj Party27980428020.244th Runner-up
AgraAmbedkari Hasnuram AmbedkariIndependent27670127680.245th Runner-up
AgraBabu LalIndependent23790223810.216th Runner-up
AgraRamji Lal VidhyarthiPeace Party14620614680.137th Runner-up
AgraHimanshiLok Gathbandhan Party14050314080.128th Runner-up
AgraRajaRashtriya Vyapari Party13230313260.129th Runner-up

Agra Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

With a total of 647,090 voters as per as 2009 elections, Agra is one of the parliamentray constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh. The Agra Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 18) consists of 1,539,683 number of electorates in totality, of these 856,239 are males and 683,444 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It was formed in 1952 and has five Vidhan Sabha segments with two of them being reserved for the SC category. The city of Agra is the district headquarters of the Agra district and is located on the banks of River Yamuna at a distance of 363 km from Lucknow and 200 km from New Delhi. Agra is home to the exquisite Taj Mahal and has a metropolitan area of 1,880.40 sq km and an elevation of over 170 m.

According to 2011 India Census data, the city has a total population of 1,775,134 with 53% consisting of males and 47% consisting of females. The child population comprises of 11% of the total while the sex ratio is 868 females per 1000 males. There is an 82.1% Hindu majority followed by 15% Muslims. The average literacy rate of Agra is 81% with 86% male and 66% female literacy rate rates. The city has been an important center of Islamic education since the Mughal era and presently houses several important institutions. Tourism, agriculture and jewelry are the prime industries here. NH-2, NH-3, NH-11 and NH-93 pass through the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Agra Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Agra parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Agra constituency is Dr. Ram Shankar Katheria of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201418Agra(SC)Dr. Ram Shankar KatheriaMBJP583716Narayan Singh SumanMBSP283453
200918Agra(SC)Ram Shankar,Prof.(Dr.) MBJP203697Kunwar Chand (Vakil)MBSP193982
200469AgraGENRaj BabbarMSP243094Murari Lal Mittal FatehpuriaMBJP185752
199973AgraGENRaj BabbarMSP288558Bhagwan Shankar RawatMBJP175576
199873AgraGENBhagwan Shankar RawatMBJP240172Rameshwar SinghMIND191749
199673AgraGENBhagwan Shankar RawatMBJP224935A.K.MauryaMBSP140367
199173AgraGENBhagwan Shanker RawatMBJP187328Ajay Singh /O Bhagwan SinghMJD124202
198973AgraGENAjay SinghMJD200975Nihal SinghMINC124506
198473AgraGENNihal SinghMINC147473Udayan SharmaMLKD107796
198073AgraGENNihal SinghMINC(I)117942Adi Ram SinghalMJNP101527
197773AgraGENShambhu Nath ChaturvediMBLD257472Achal SinghMINC96920
197173AgraGENAchal SinghMINC160242Babu Lal Singhal MBKD47181
196773AgraGENS.A. SinghMINC95828H. Rani MBJS68095
195723AgraGENSeth Achal SinghMINC110710Sri Krishna Dutt Paliwal MIND80995

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Agra Constituency

Name of MP Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar
Age 54
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A., Ph.D.
Activities of Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 32
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 21
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Agra Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Agra parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
EtmadpurAgra Cantonment (SC)Agra South
Agra North Jalesar (SC)

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021