Track your constituency
Live News

Tripura Assembly Election 2018 Updates

Tripura Assembly Elections 2023

Tripura legislative assembly elections 2023 are going to be held on 16 th February, 2023. Various political parties are set to contest the 60 assembly constituencies of Tripura Legislative assembly. The current government of the state is of the Bharatiya Janata Party that won the Tripura Legislative Assembly elections 2018.

Tripura Assembly Elections 2018

Tripura Assembly election was held on Feb 18, 2018. The turnout was recorded to be 75%. The term of the current state government ends on March 6, 2018, and polls were held for 60 constituencies. The state has been under the rule of CPI for 25 years and it has turned out to be the most stable government in the country. The last legislative Assembly election in Tripura was held in February 2013.

BJP Wave

Presently, most states of the country are under the BJP government and the party seemingly left no stone unturned even in the northeastern part of the country. The BJP national president, Amit Shah and other party dignitaries have held a number of rallies and conducted meetings. The saffron party has also seen some members defecting to it in last few months from Congress and other parties, which is one indication of the party's strengthening grip over the state. The party also held a 'Parivartan rally' in the state with an aim to expose the ruling party for its misrule and use of terror to suppress any political opposition. BJP state president Biplab Deb also expressed assurance that people were not going to vote for the CPI(M) in the coming Vidhan Sabha elections in Tripura.

CPI(M) is also Preparing Hard

OOn the other hand, the Left Front too made a number of attempts to retain its power in the state. The party also launched a huge election campaigning in the state. Many chief party officials also called the saffron party's moves a conspiracy against them. Currently, the ruling party CPI(M) holds a majority in the Tripura Assembly House with 49 seats and is ruling the constituencies for over 2 decades without facing many challenges from the opposition parties.

Tripura Assembly Election

The Assembly Elections held in Tripura are listed below.
Election YearAssembly ElectionWinning Party
Tripura Assembly Election Result 2018Eleventh AssemblyBJP
Tripura Assembly Election 2013Tenth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 2008Ninth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 2003Eighth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1998Seventh AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1993Sixth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1988Fifth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1983Fourth AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1977Third AssemblyCPIM
Tripura Assembly Election 1972Second AssemblyINC
Tripura Assembly Election 1967First AssemblyINC

Last Updated on: May 20, 2019