Track your constituency
Live News

Surajgarh (Rajasthan) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Surajgarh Assembly (Vidha Sabha) Constituency – Bye Elections 2014

Surajgarh by-election in Rajasthan will be held on September 13, 2014. The poll was necessitated because the sitting MLA Santosh Ahlawat of BJP got elected to the Lok Sabha in the May 2014 General Elections. While Digambar Singh is the BJP candidate, Shrawan Kumar is the Congress candidate from Surajgarh. One of Ahlawat's supporters Nita Yadav is now contesting the by-poll as independent. Digambar Singh is believed to be a Vasundhara Raja loyalist. Locals feel that BJP may suffer due to sympathy votes in favour of BJP-rebel Nita Yadav. BJP’s strategy is to organise big rallies, spearheaded by the current CM of Rajasthan Vasundhara Raje. BJP is also highlighting inefficiency of erstwhile Congress governments to draw votes. Congress seems to be ahead in the race because of the inability of BJP to pacify its rebel leaders.

Santosh Ahlawat wanted the party ticket for her husband which was denied by the BJP leadership. Total electorate of this Assembly segment is 2.40 lakh. However, it seems this constituency is on a low priority of leading leaders of the state.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Surajgarh Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Surajgarh assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA.C No.Assembly Constituency NameTypeWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201326SurajgarhGENSantosh Ahlawat MBJP108840Shrawan KumarMINC58621
200826SurajgarhGENSharwan KumarMINC44985Santosh AhlawatMBJP37771
200324Surajgarh(SC)Sundar Lal MBJP43555Babu Lal KhandaMIND39838
199824Surajgarh(SC)Hanuman Prasad MINC43261SundarlalMBJP34240
199324Surajgarh(SC)Sunder Lal MIND38378Babul Lal KhandaMINC34511
199024Surajgarh(SC)Babu Lal MJD54765Sundar LalMINC35114
198524Surajgarh(SC)Sunder Lal MINC40061Suraj MalMLKD31645
198024Surajgarh(SC)Sundar LalMIND23010Suraj MalMJNP(SC)17292
197724Surajgarh(SC)Subhash Chand Arya MJNP23881Sunder LalMINC18233
197221Surajgarh(SC)Sunder LalMINC18632Suraj MalMIND9451
196721Surajgarh(SC)SurajmalMSWA15589M.P. BunkaMINC14350
19622Surajgarh(SC)Shiv Narain ChhachhiaMSWA11500Mahadeo PrasadMINC9487

Last Updated on June 08, 2020

Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023