Track your constituency
Live News

Kota south (Rajasthan) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Kota South Assembly (Vidha Sabha) Constituency – Bye Elections 2014

The by-polls of the Kota- south assembly constituency of Rajasthan have been scheduled to be held on September 13, 2014. The seat has been left vacant since the sitting MLA of Kota- south Om Birla of Bhartiya Janta Patry has been elected in the Lok Sabha General elections. These 2014 by-polls will have Sandeep Sharma of BJP and Shivkant Nandwana of Congress as the main contenders. While Congress’ leaders are mainly focused on schemes of the Gehlot regime BJP is contesting these by-polls on the development agendas & works by Rajasthan’s Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje for the past 8 months.

The previous Assembly Elections which were held on December 01, 2013 had seen BJP’s Shri Om Birla as the winner of the MLA seat after defeating Indian National Congress’ Pankaj Mehta with 49,439 votes.

Kota- south consists of 2.4 lakh voters approximately of which the Vaishya and the Brahmin community constitutes of 20 per cent of the population. BJP has been in power for around 35 years except for the time in the year 1998 when a Congress candidate won from the constituency.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kota South Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kota South assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA.C No.Assembly Constituency NameTypeWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
2013190Kota SouthGENOm Birla MBJP103369Pankaj MehtaMINC53930
2008190Kota SouthGENOm BirlaMBJP74381RamkishanMINC50129

Last Updated on May 29, 2020

Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023