Track your constituency

Live News

Patiala Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Patiala Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Preneet KaurIndian National Congress531178084953202745.17Winner
Surjit Singh RakhraShiromani Akali Dal368498081136930931.351st Runner-up
Dharam Vira GandhiNawan Punjab Party161388025716164513.722nd Runner-up
Neena MittalAam Aadmi Party566100267568774.833rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above11081029111100.944th Runner-up
Banwari LalIndependent81110281130.695th Runner-up
Ashwani KumarShivsena484007749170.426th Runner-up
Parveen KumarIndependent47460147470.47th Runner-up
Kshmakant PandeyHindustan Shakti Sena42990943080.378th Runner-up
Makhan SinghIndependent28080028080.249th Runner-up
Harpal SinghAmbedkarite Party Of India240903024390.2110th Runner-up
Jagmail SinghIndependent22730122740.1911th Runner-up
Amarpreet SinghIndependent18340518390.1612th Runner-up
Harbhajan Singh VirkIndependent16080516130.1413th Runner-up
Ajaib SinghRashtriya Janshakti Party (Secular)150501315180.1314th Runner-up
Baldeep SinghIndependent14970214990.1315th Runner-up
Rishabh SharmaIndependent13900013900.1216th Runner-up
Parminder KumarIndependent13450013450.1117th Runner-up
Rajesh KumarIndependent12830112840.1118th Runner-up
Jasbir SinghIndependent11230311260.119th Runner-up
Lal ChandIndependent10770210790.0920th Runner-up
Manjeet SinghIndependent10610110620.0921th Runner-up
Randhir Singh KhanguraIndependent10210210230.0922th Runner-up
Mohan LalIndependent985019860.0823th Runner-up
Shankar LalIndependent799048030.0724th Runner-up
Gurnam SinghIndependent759037620.0625th Runner-up

One of the 13 constituencies of Punjab, Patiala Parliamentary Constituency was formed before the 1951 elections and has nine Vidhan Sabha segments of which two are reserved for the SC category. The total number of electorates in the Patiala Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 13) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,344,864 of which 705,182 are males and 639,682 are females.

Quick facts for Patiala

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party INC
MPDr. Dharam Vira Gandhi
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals7051826396821344864
Polling stations1558

The second largest city of Punjab, it is the centre of administration of the Patiala District and is located about 70 kms from Chandigarh at a height of 350 metres. Patiala District spreads over an area of 4,628 sq kms..

As the provisional 2011 census data states, Patiala had a total population of over 4,05,000, 10% of which was under the age of five. 54% of the population comprises of males and the sex ratio of the city is 879 females for every 1,000 males. 56% of the total population is Sikh, followed by Hindus at 42% and the rest constitutes of Christians, Muslims, etc. The prevalent languages are Punjabi, Hindi and English. With an average literacy rate of 87%, the city has a male literacy rate of 90% and a female literacy rate of 83%. It is one of the primary education centres of the state and is home to the prestigious Yadavindra Public School which was established by the late King of Patiala. The National Highway NH-1 is connected to Patiala via the Punjab State Highway SH-8. NH-64 also passes through the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Patiala Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Patiala parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Patiala constituency is Dr. Dharam Vira Gandhi of INC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201413PatialaGENDr. Dharam Vira GandhiMAAP365671Preneet KaurFINC344729
200913PatialaGENKaur,Smt. Preneet FINC474188Prem Singh ChandumajraMSAD376799
20048PatialaGENPreneet KaurFINC409917Kanwaljit SinghMSAD386250
19998PatialaGENPreneet KaurFINC360125Surjit Singh RakhraMSAD281217
19988PatialaGENPrem Singh ChandumajraMSAD410937Amrinder SinghMINC377686
19968PatialaGENPrem Singh ChandumajraMSAD316554Sant RamMINC267488
19928PatialaGENSant Ram SinglaMINC135864Manjit Singh KhairaMSAD(M)32088
19898PatialaGENAtinderpal SinghMIND294172Vinod Kumar S/O Kidar NathMINC212912
19858PatialaGENCharanjit SinghMSAD254302Amarjit KaurFINC234034
19809PatialaGENAmarender SinghMINC(I)256233Ajit SinghMSAD177254
19778PatialaGENGurcharan Sing TohraMSAD265111Amarender SinghMINC174794
197111PatialaGENSat PalMINC147436Gian Singh MSAD105739
196711PatialaGENM. KaurMINC189825T. Singh MCPI79615
196221PatialaGENHukum SinghMINC156452Gurdial Singh MAD146366
195717PatialaGENAchint Ram MINC124380Dewan Singh MIND79947

Facts about current sitting MP of Patiala Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Dharam Vira Gandhi
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Aam Aadmi Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S., M.D. (General Medicine), Asst. Professor (Cardiology)
Activities of Dr. Dharam Vira Gandhi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 52
Private member bills passed 6
Questions asked 134
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Patiala Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Patiala parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Nabha (SC)Patiala RuralRajpura
Dera BassiGhanaurSanour
PatialaSamanaShutrana (SC)

Last Updated on June 28, 2019