Track your constituency

Live News

Fatehgarh Sahib Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Amar SinghIndian National Congress410723092841165141.75Winner
Darbara Singh GuruShiromani Akali Dal316999075431775332.231st Runner-up
Manwinder Singh GiaspuraLok Insaaf Party142072020214227414.432nd Runner-up
Bandeep SinghAam Aadmi Party625530328628816.383rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above12985060130451.324th Runner-up
Gurcharan Singh MachhiwaraIndependent497201449860.515th Runner-up
Kuldeep Singh SahotaIndependent46940546990.486th Runner-up
Advocate Prabhjot SinghIndependent39390339420.47th Runner-up
Surjit Singh KangBhartiya Lok Seva Dal343303634690.358th Runner-up
Ashok KumarRashtriya Lokswaraj Party328501132960.339th Runner-up
Prem Singh MohanpurIndependent25540525590.2610th Runner-up
Kamaljeet SinghDemocratic Party Of India (Ambedkar)235203523870.2411th Runner-up
Ram Singh RaisalAmbedkarite Party Of India19320719390.212th Runner-up
Balkar SinghIndependent18580318610.1913th Runner-up
Lachhman SinghIndependent17600617660.1814th Runner-up
Harchand SinghRevolutionary Socialist Party17300317330.1815th Runner-up
Gurbachan SinghSamaj Adhikar Kalyan Party13020813100.1316th Runner-up
Balwinder KaurJai Jawan Jai Kisan Party126202712890.1317th Runner-up
Vinod KumarBharat Prabhat Party110202011220.1118th Runner-up
Karandeep SinghIndependent10440010440.1119th Runner-up
Gurjit SinghSarvjan Sewa Party935079420.120th Runner-up

Fatehgarh Sahib is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Punjab, formed after the delimitation of 2008, reserved for the SC category and consists of nine Vidhan Sabha segments. The total number of electorates in the Fatehgarh Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 8) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,207,556 of which 634,341 are males and 573,215 are females.

Quick facts for Fatehgarh Sahib

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party AAP
MPHarinder Singh Khalsa
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6343415732151207556
Polling stations1330
The city stands at an average elevation of about 246 metres north of Patiala. The town is an important religious centre for the Sikhs and is bordered by four gates built in the memory of four historical figures in Sikh history. Fatehgarh Sahib District covers an area of 1,180 sq kms.

Fatehgarh Sahib district had a population of about 6,00,163 as per the 2011 census report. It has 51% male majority with a sex ratio of 871 females for every 1,000 males. The city is home to Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, etc, with 75% Sikh majority. The official language is Punjabi and the district has an average literacy rate of 79%, with male literacy rate of 83% and female literacy rate of 75%.

The city has many schools, both private and public, affiliated to the state and central boards of education. Agriculture is the major source of economy and the city also has several steel factories. The city is connected to the state highway of SH-12A.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Fatehgarh Sahib Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Fatehgarh Sahib parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Fatehgarh Sahib constituency is Shri Harinder Singh Khalsa of AAP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20148Fatehgarh Sahib(SC)Harinder Singh KhalsaMAAP367293Sadhu SinghMINC313149
20098Fatehgarh Sahib(SC)Libra,Shri Sukhdev Singh MINC393557Charanjit Singh AtwaMSAD359258

List of Assembly Constituencies in Fatehgarh Sahib Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Fatehgarh Sahib parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Bassi PathanaFatehgarh SahibAmloh

Last Updated on June 28, 2019