Track your constituency

Live News

Sangrur (Punjab) Election Results 2017

Latest Election News and Update

Delhi Election 2020 - Sadar Bazar Assembly Constituency Delhi Election 2020: Sadar Bazar Constituency

Sadar Bazar is a Vidhan Sabha Constituency in Delhi. There are 70 Assembly Constituencies in the state of Delhi. Sadar Bazar is a part of Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency. Read More…

Delhi Election 2020 Narela Assembly Constituency Delhi Elections 2020: All About Narela Constituency

Narela is one of the 70 Vidhan Sabha constituencies in the National Captial Territory of Delhi (NCT-Delhi) and is located in the North Delhi district. It is amongst the 10 Read More…

Delhi Election 2020: Badarpur Assembly Constituency Delhi Election 2020: All You Need to Know About Badarpur Assembly Constituency

Badarpur is one of the 70 Assembly Constituencies of Delhi. It is located in the North East Delhi district and is also a part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. Read More…

BJP President - JP Nadda Jagat Prakash Nadda Becomes the President of BJP: Past Performance and Future Perspective

Jagat Prakash Nadda has become the president of India’s dominant political party- The Bharatiya Janata Party. He has replaced aggressive and powerful Amit Shah, whereas JP Nadda himself is soft-spoken and media-shy. Read More…

BJP INC Candidate List BJP and INC release Next lists of Candidates

The Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC) have released their next list of candidates in light of the imminent Delhi Assembly Elections in the dead of the Read More…

BJP Candidate List Latest Delhi Election 2020: BJP may give up most of the remaining seats to its allies

BJP Candidate List announced on 17 January has named 57 candidates out of the 70 constituencies of Delhi. No decision has yet been made for the remaining 13 seats of Read More…

No query found

About Sangrur Assembly Constituency

Sangrur is constituency No. 108 of Punjab legislative assembly. The northwestern state of Punjab has 117 assembly constituencies. Sangrur assembly constituency is situated in Sangrur district in eastern part of the state. It comes under the Lok Sabha constituency that goes by the same name. It is an open constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Sangrur has 1,55,737 registered voters. It comprises 82,541 male and 73,196 female registered voters.

In the 2012 assembly elections, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won this constituency by 4,645 votes. Parkash Chand Garg, the winning candidate from Shiromani Akali Dal, got 53,302 votes. With 48,657 votes, the runner-up was Surinder Pal Singh Sibia of Congress. The voter turnout was a good 80.42 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Sangrur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Sangrur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2012108SangrurGENParkash Chand GargMSAD53302Surinder Pal Singh SibiaMINC48657
200785SangrurGENSurinder Pal Singh SibiaMINC61171Prakash Chand GargMSAD49161
200286SangrurGENArvind KhannaMINC42339Ranjit Singh BalianMIND23207
199786SangrurGENRanjit SinghMSAD43971Surinder Pal SinghMINC41615
199286SangrurGENJasbir SinghMINC8978Ranjit SinghMSAD6227
198586SangrurGENRanjit SinghMSAD33433Bhupinder SinghMINC26383
198086SangrurGENSukhdev SinghMSAD30438Tegvir SinghMINC(I)25662
197786SangrurGENGurdial SinghMJNP18721Gurbux SinghMINC15925
197292SangrurGENGur Bakhsh SinghMINC22552Gursan SinghMSAD21551
196992SangrurGENGurbakshs SinghMINC24334Raghbir SinghMSAD17702
196792SangrurGENJ. SinghMADS14233G. SinghMINC13437
1962152SangrurGENHardit SinghMCPI26035Rajinder SinghMINC25380
1957114SangrurGENRajinder SinghMINC19144Hardit SinghMCPI15353

Last Updated on March 11, 2017