Track your constituency

Live News

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP)

Asom Gana Parishad Symbol

About Asom Gana Parishad

One of the most prominent parties in Assam, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) or the Assam People’s Association is a recognized regional political party in India. It is the biggest opposition
to the Indian National Congress in Assam, which has formed the present 13th Government of Assam in 2011. The AGP formed the government in Assam twice, winning the 8th State Legislative Assembly from 1985-1990 and the 10th Legislative Assembly from 1996-2001, respectively. The party has a regionalist political ideology.

The AGP was formed in 1985, due to the signing of the historic Assam Accord in August, same year, following the peace movement called the Assam Agitation which took place. This movement, which took place for six years, spearheaded by organizations like All Assam Students Union (AASU) and others, revolted against the illegal infiltration of migrants especially from Bangladesh. The AASU protested against such immigrations, as they believed that the internal political, social and cultural identity of the Assamese was being altered due to this. In such tense situations, the State Assembly elections were held in 1983.

The AASU, which then constituted the All Assam Gana Sangram Parishad (AAGSP) demanded that the government to be dismissed. In such a crisis, an agreement was signed between AAGSP and New Delhi, which came to be called the historic Assam Accord. Following this, the government formed by the INC collapsed, and fresh elections were announced to be held. A National Convention of the people of Assam was organized at Golaghat in October 1985, where the decision to form a regional political party was unanimously taken. This regional party came to be called the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). The new President of the AASU was Prafulla Kumar Mahanta. Mahanta became the President of the AGP.

Other regional parties namely, Asom Jatiyabadi Dal and Purbanchaliya Loka Parishad and organizations like the Asom Sahitya Sabha merged with the ideologies of AGP. The AGP swept the polls in the 1985 elections, forming the 8th Government of Assam.

Election Symbol and its Significance

The Election Symbol of the AGP, as approved by the Election Commission of India, is an ‘Elephant’ which is facing left. This symbol is also the Election Symbol of the BSP, which uses the symbol in all states except Assam and Sikkim, where the party must choose another symbol. The AGP, because it is a regional party, has been given approval to choose this symbol. There is an immense significance attached to the symbol of the elephant used by the AGP. An elephant symbolizes physical strength and will-power. It is a giant animal and is usually very peaceful. This inherent meaning is applied to signify the population of Assam, especially the down-trodden sections of the society that AGP caters to. The Assamese are peace-loving people, and they successfully carried out the Assam Agitation without the use of violence. These people have great physical and mental strength and can fight all battles, however difficult.

The struggle against the upper-castes as well as the oppression faced in their hands, is symbolized by the use of the ‘elephant’ by the AGP - it is tough, fearless, peaceful as well as full of strength. It is also symbolic of stability, devotion towards duty and excellent foresight. The AGP caters to the welfare of the SCs, STs and Tea Tribes in specific. Thus the symbol is very significant.

Leaders of the AGP

The leaders of the AGP, who are also their national representatives and executives, are the following:
  • Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, Chairperson of AGP - Mahanta was elected the youngest Chief Minister of Assam. He remained in the capacity of the CM for 2 terms. He headed the Assam Agitation. He has remained the President of AGP from its inception.
  • Joseph Toppo, Member of Lok Sabha - Toppo is an MP in the 15th Lok Sabha, from the prestigious Tezpur constituency.
  • Kumar Deepak Das, Member of Rajya Sabha - As a member of the AGP, Das represents Assam in the upper house of Parliament.
  • Birendra Prasad Baishya, Member of Rajya Sabha - As a member of AGP, Baishya represents Assam in the upper house of Parliament.


As a regional political party and by forming the Assam government twice, the AGP has contributed significantly to the political scenario of the country. Some of these are listed below:
  • The AGP has a number of mass organizations like its youth wing called Asom Yuva Parishad, its women’s wing called Asom Mahila Parishad and its peasant wing called Asom Krishak Parishad.
  • The AGP increased the Royalty for Crude Oil from Rs. 61 per MT to Rs. 314 per MT. This has significantly enhanced the political scenario of the state.
  • The AGP government also increased the number of refineries for crude oil in Assam. These new refineries have the capacity to contain up to 3 MT of oil. One significant example of such a massive refinery, as renovated by the AGP government is the Bangaigaon Refinery.
  • The AGP prevented the further division of the state of Assam, as was proposed by the Congress government.
  • The AGP constructed two major flyovers in Guwahati, and sanctioned loans for railway and other infrastructural projects in Assam, thereby enhancing the transport networks in the state.
  • The AGP government tackled financial crisis in the state of Assam, by reversing the financial loan of rupees 4,000 crores that the previous INC government has indebted. It made possible the increase of central government sanctions to 10 percent as loan.
  • The AGP has extensively looked into the welfare of the Tea Garden Tribes and other lower castes in Assam. The AGP built a number of hostels, schools, increased employment for the youth belonging to these castes. It also initiated a number of grants and fiscal policies to better the conditions of these people.

Contact Details

Official Website of AGP-
Head-Office Address of AGP-Gopinath Bordoloi Road, Guwahati- 781001
Contact Numbers-PHONE: (03712) 244205

Last Updated on July 20, 2020