Track your constituency

K Siddaramaiah Biography

K Siddaramaiah

K Siddaramaiah

BornAug 12, 1948
Place of BirthSiddaramanahundi, Mysore State, India
Political partyIndian National Congress
Education QualificationB.Sc and Bachelor of Law
Marital statusMarried
Spouse(s)Parvathi Siddaramaiah
Positions held
  • Member of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly for Badami (Assumed office 15 May 2018)
  • 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka ( 13 May 2013 - 17 May 2018)
  • Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka ( 31 May 1996 - 7 October 1999), ( 28 May 2004 - 5 August 2005)

About Siddaramaiah

Siddaramaiah was the former CM of Karnataka and held the position from 2013 to 2018. This made him the first political leader in Karnataka to complete a full 5 year tenure in 40 years after D. Devaraj Urs. As a CM, he was known for his socialist and secular outlook. He is currently an important political figure of the Indian National Congress. Earlier, he served as a leader for JD(Secular) and was a Deputy CM for the state on two occasions.

Personal Background of Siddaramaiah

Siddaramaiah was born in a farming family and could not start his formal education until the age of 10. But, later he completed B.Sc and Bachelor of Law from Mysore University. He is married to Parvathi and has 2 sons, an actor (passed away in 2016 due to multiple organ failure) and a doctor.

Professional Career of Siddaramaiah

He was working as a junior lawyer until 1978, when he started his political career by contesting for the Chamundeshwari constituency on Bharatiya Lok Dal ticket. He entered the 7th legislative assembly elections for Karnataka and against the expectations of many, he won the seat, which earned him name and fame. In the 1985 mid-term polls, he got re-elected and became minister for veterinary services and animal husbandry. He got elected again in the 1994 state elections and held the position of Finance Minister in Deve Gowda-led JD government. He was also appointed as deputy CM in 1996. When Janata Dal split, he sided with Janata Dal(Secular), a faction led by Gowda, and went on to become the state president of the state unit. Later in 2004, when Congress and JDS formed a coalition, he was again made the Deputy CM.

However, he suffered an expulsion from the party following differences between him and Deve Gowda. He later joined Congress and won the by-polls in December 2006 in Chamundeshwari constituency, despite the aggressive campaigning by Deve Gowda. In 2013, he became the leader of Congress legislative party.

He later led Congress to victory in 2013 by winning with a majority in Legislative Assembly election held in 2013.

Last Updated on June 26, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…