Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Jai Ram Thakur Biography


Jai Ram Thakur

NameJai Ram Thakur
Current Position13th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh
Preceded byVirbhadra Singh
BornJan 6, 1965
Political partyBhartiya Janata Party
Education QualificationBachelor of Arts and Master of Arts
Marital statusMarried
Spouse(s) Dr. Sadhana Thakur

About Jai Ram Thakur

Jai Ram Thakur is Himachal Pradesh's newly appointed chief minister. On 24 December, he became the BJP legislative party leader after the defeat of Prem Kumar Dhumal. He has served as an MLA since 1998 in HP assembly and has also been a cabinet minister for Himachal's BJP government.

Personal Background of Jai Ram Thakur

He was born to a family with limited means. He worked after school to gather enough money to pursue college. He has done his BA from Vallabh Govt. College and MA from Panjab University in Chandigarh. He is married to Sashna, who is a doctor by profession, and is blessed with two daughters.

One of his brothers, Somabhai, is a retired health officer who now runs an old age home in the city of Ahmedabad. Another of his brothers Prahlad, an activist on behalf of fair-price shop owners, has his own fair-price shop in Ahmedabad. His third brother Pankaj is employed with the Information Department in Gandhinagar.

Professional Career of Jai Ram Thakur

He collaborated with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad while pursuing graduation at Vallabh Govt. College. He soon became the joint Secretary of the organisation and stayed in the position till 1986. He also went on to become ABVP's Organising Secretary. During 1993-95, he served as a state secretary for BJP's Yuva Morcha. In 1998, he got elected to the legislative assembly of HP. For the year 2000-03, he served as a vice president for the saffron party. For the coming years, he continued getting re-elected to the legislative assembly. On 27 December 2017, he became the 13th CM of the state.

He is considered as one of the most hardworking politicians and has held various responsible posts such as chairman of education, rural planning and general development committee and also the vice chairman of State Civil Supplies Corporation Limited.

Last Updated on June 22, 2020

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…