Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Gopinathrao Munde Biography

Gopinathrao Munde

Gopinathrao Munde

BornDec 12, 1949
Death Jun 3, 2014
Place of Birth Parali
Political Party BJP
Religion Hindu
EducationCommerce Graduate
Profession before joining politics Farmer & Social worker
Spouse Name Pradnya Munde
Children 3 daughters
Positions held
  • Member of Parliament for Beed (16 May 2009 - 3 June 2014)
  • Minister of Rural Development ( 26 May 2014 - 3 June 2014)
  • Minister of Drinking Water and Sanitation ( 26 May 2014 - 3 June 2014)
  • Minister of Panchayati Raj ( 26 May 2014 - 3 June 2014)
  • Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra ( 14 March 1995 - 11 October 1999)

About Gopinath Munde

Gopinath Pandurang Munde was an Indian politician and the Union Minister for Rural Development Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation. The position was short-lived due to his death in a road accident. He was a senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and has been the Deputy Leader of BJP in the Lok Sabha in 2009 and 2014. Munde was MP from Beed constituency in Maharashtra. Munde has held the position of the Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra from 1995 – 1999. From 1992 – 1995, he also served as the Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. Munde has served five terms as a Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from 1980-1985 and 1990-2009. Munde was married to Pradnya Munde, sister of Late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan. On 3 June 2014, Munde died in a road accident in New Delhi. He is survived by wife Pradnya and three daughters – Pankaja, Pritam and Yashashri.

Last Updated on June 20, 2020

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…