Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Dr Subramanian Swamy Biography

Dr Subramanian Swamy

Dr Subramanian Swamy

DOBSep 15, 1939
Place of BirthMylapore, Chennai, India
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party
Father's NameSri. Sitaram Subramanian
Mother's NameSmt.Padmavathi
SpouseRoxna Swamy
ChildrenTwo daughters, Gitanjali Swamy and Suhasini Haider
EducationB.A. (Honours) in Mathematics, M.A. (Statistics), Ph.D.(Economics
Alma materUniversity of Delhi, Indian Statistical Institute, Harvard University
Profession before joining politicsEconomist, Professor, Author
Positions Held
  • Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha (Assumed office 26 April 2016)
  • Minister of Commerce and Industry (10 November 1990 - 21 June 1991)
  • Minister of Law and Justice (10 November 1990 - 21 June 1991)
  • Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha ( 1998-1999)
  • President, Janata Party ( 1990-2013)

About Subramanian Swamy

Subramanian Swamy was born in Mylapore, Chennai in Tamil Nadu on 15 September, 1939. His father, Sitaraman Subramanian, was a bureaucrat while his mother, Padmavathy, was a homemaker. Swamy completed his Masters in Mathematics from University of Delhi and went on to do Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University. Swamy married Roxna, an Indian woman of Parsi origin who also studied at Harvard, in 1966. The couple have two daughters, Gitanjali Sarma and Suhasini Haider.

Political Career of Subramanian Swamy

Subramanian Swamy began his political career with his participation in the Sarvodaya movement. This apolitical movement eventually led to the creation of Janata Party. He was expelled from his teaching position at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi for promoting liberal economic policies. This heralded the beginning of his active political career. He was a stiff opponent of Indira Gandhi. He became a Rajya Sabha MP on right wing political party Jansangh's backing.

During the Emergency, he fled to the United States and helped organize an underground movement. In 1976, while the Emergency was still in force, an arrest warrant had been issued in his name. In a unique act of defiance, Swamy came to the Parliament, attended a session and managed to escape the country after the session was adjourned. After this incident, Indira Gandhi was made to realise that the Emergency had become a farce and she was compelled to declare the next general elections which she eventually lost.

In November 1978, Swamy was member of the Group which prepared a report of the United Nations (UNCTAD) on Economic Co-operation between Developing countries (ECDC) in Geneva. He worked on simplifying trade procedures and designed a new export policy which pioneered the trade reforms adopted subsequently. In 1994, the then Prime Minister P. V. Narasimha Rao appointed him as the Chairman of the Commission on Labour Standards and International Trade.

Swamy was one of the founding members of Janata Party. He served as the party's president since its inception in 1990 till 2013 when it got merged with the BJP. He was elected to the Lok Sabha five times between 1974 and 1999. During 1990 and 1991, Swamy served as member of the Planning Commission and also as Cabinet Minister of Commerce and Law.

Swamy, the activist politician, filed a case in the Supreme Court to prosecute A. Raja in the 2G Spectrum scam in 2012. He also sought to prosecute the then Union Minister of the UPA cabinet P. Chidambaram and Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, in the scam.

Swamy hit the headlines recently for making unflattering remarks against outgoing RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan, Chief Economic Advisor Arvind Subramnian and Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley for which he went out of favour for many and snubbed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself.

Last Updated on June 18, 2020

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…