Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Dharmendra Pradhan Biography

Shri Dharmendra Pradhan

Dharmendra Pradhan

NameDharmendra Pradhan
DOB Jun 26, 1969
Place of Birth Talcher, Distt. Angul (Odisha)
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party
Father's NameDr. Debendra Pradhan
Mother's NameShrimati Basanta Manjari Pradhan
Marital StatusMarried on 9-12-1998
SpouseShrimati Mridula Pradhan
ChildrenOne son and one daughter
EducationM.A. (Anthropology) Educated at Talcher College, Odisha and Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Odisha
Profession before joining politics Political and Social Worker
Positions held
  • Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas since 26 May 2014
  • Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship since 3 September 2017
  • MP of Rajya Sabha for Madhya Pradesh sicne 3 April 2018
  • Member of Parliament (2004-2009)
  • MP of Rajya Sabha for Bihar (3 April 2012 - 2 April 2018)
A prominent Indian politician, Dharmendra Pradhan gained the ministerial berth in the newly-formed government.

He was sworn in as the Minister of State (with Independent charge) for Petroleum and Natural Gas in the Modi government. He is the member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).


Family and Personal Background of Dharmendra Pradhan

Dharmendra Pradhan was born to Debendra Pradhan and Basanta Manjari Pradhan in Talcher district of Angul, Odisha on June 26, 1969. His father was a former BJP MP. He did his post-graduation in Anthropology from Utkal University in Odisha. Presently he is married to Mridula T Pradhan and the couple has a son and a daughter.

Political Career of Dharmendra Pradhan

Dharmendra Pradhan entered into the realm of politics as a member of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). In 1985, he was elected as the President of Talcher College Students' Union. He actively participated in the students' movements in the state of Odisha. Soon he was elected as the national secretary of ABVP and subsequently of Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha from 2004 to 2006. While he was the President of the Yuva Morcha he participated in campaigns related to reservations on the basis of religion.

Pradhan entered into national politics in the year 2004. His father who was a minister in Vajpayee government was a MP from Deogarh constituency. He left his seat in 2004 thus paving the way for his son. Dharmendra Pradhan won the Lok Sabha elections of 2004 from the constituency. But Pradhan lost the subsequent elections.

Though his stint into national politics is not long, he managed to secure for himself the position in the Cabinet. Talking to the media after taking the charge, Pradhan said that his focus “would be to meet the expectations of the poor and the middle-class people of the country”. He said that “the people of the country have large expectations from the new government and this government is dedicated to the welfare of the poor”. He further added, “the Indian economy has an important role in the world economy, and I would endeavour to make contribution to this effect”.

Apart from Politics

A great social worker, Pradhan is concerned about the problems faced by the youth such as unemployment, technical education etc. He also works for the development of backward classes and the rehabilitation of the farmers. He played a very important role in creating a positive image of politics in the youth so that they can be better leaders and work for the betterment of our country. Pradhan not only loves travelling but also reading books.

Political Journey of Dharmendra Pradhan

  • He was elected as the national secretary of ABVP in 1995.
  • He was the member of Odisha legislative assembly from 2000 to 2004
  • In 2004 he was elected to Lok Sabha.
  • In 2006 he became the President of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha.
  • Pradhan was elected to Rajya Sabha in 2012. Since then he was a member of several committees like Committee on Government Assurances, Joint Parliamentary Committee to examine matters relating to allocation and pricing of telecom licences and spectrum, Committee on Rural Development and Committee on Agriculture.
  • 2004 onwards he was the party in-charge for Tripura, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand and Odisha.
  • In May 2014 he took oath as the Minister of of State (with Independent charge) for Petroleum and Natural Gas.
Elections Blog | Page not found

Track your constituency

Not Found

Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.

Facebook Like Box


No query found
Last Updated on June 17, 2020