Track your constituency

Live News

Puri Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Puri Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of Odisha. It was formed prior to the 1952 elections and comprises of seven segments. The Puri Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 17) has a total of 1,322,817 electorates out of which 628,813 are females and
694,004 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. The city of Puri is the administrative centre of the Puri District as well as one of the seven holiest Hindu sites in the country. Puri is located along the coast of the Bay of Bengal and covers a total area of 16 sq km. Oriya is the official language of the people although Hindi, English, Bengali and Telegu are also popular.

It has a population of over 2,00,000 of which over 50% are males. It has a sex ratio of 928 females per 1,000 males. It has a 90% Hindu majority. The city has several schools and colleges in the area and Puri boasts of an average literacy of about 90%. It is the first city to have received the Govt.’s Midday Meal initiative which was successful in feeding over 60,000 children in and around the city. It is connected to the National Highway NH-203. The city’s economy is boosted by its huge handicraft and cottage industries. The textile and silk industries are also flourishing and exquisite jewellery is a specialty in Puri.

Puri Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo — has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Pinaki MisraBiju Janata Dal537782053953832147.4Winner
Dr Sambit PatraBharatiya Janata Party5245040210352660746.371st Runner-up
Satya Prakash NayakIndian National Congress445990135447343.942nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above72100772170.643rd Runner-up
Nrusingha Charan DasBahujan Samaj Party625902462830.554th Runner-up
Jayaprakash SethiAkhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha50050350080.445th Runner-up
Mandakini SethiCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)26480326510.236th Runner-up
Sabyasachi MohapatraKalinga Sena24850224870.227th Runner-up
Ranjan MishraCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star23110123120.28th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Puri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Puri parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Puri constituency is Shri Pinaki Misra of BJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201417PuriGENPinaki MisraMBJD523161Sucharita MohantyMINC259800
200917PuriGENMisra,Shri Pinaki MBJD436961Debendra Nath MansinghMINC225656
20048PuriGENBraja Kishore TripathyMBJD462248Pinaki MisraMINC401288
19998PuriGENBraja Kishore TripathyMBJD383060Jayant DasMINC251315
19988PuriGENBraja Kishore TripathyMBJD358978Pinaki MishraMINC306433
19968PuriGENPinaki MishraMINC352837Brajakishore TripathyMJD240529
19918PuriGENBraja Kishore TripathyMJD275608Gangadhar MahapatraMINC236651
19898PuriGENNilamani RoutrayMJD367618Brajamohan MohantiMINC228046
19848PuriGENBrajamohan MohentyMINC239019Ranjit MohantyMJNP134579
19808PuriGENBrajamohan MohantyMINC(I)201753Padmacharan SamantasinharMJNP(S)79950
19778PuriGENPadmacharan SamantasinharMBLD179802Banamali PatnaikMINC109261
19717PuriGENBanamali PatanaikMINC117354Padma Charan SamatasinharMUTC70577
19677PuriGENR. RayMSSP143901B. MisraMINC84643
196213PuriGENBibudhendra MisraMINC83788Prananath PatnaikMCPI46294
195714PuriGENChintamani PanigrahiMCPI76839Lokanath MisraMINC68803
195113PuriGENLokanath MisraMINC85945Man Mohan MisraMCPI69677

List of Assembly Constituencies in Puri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Puri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Puri Brahmagiri Satyabadi
Pipili Chilika Ranpur

Last Updated on July 13, 2019