Track your constituency

Live News

Jagatsinghpur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…

One of the 21 parliamentary constituencies of Odhisha, JagatsinghpurLok Sabha Constituency was formed prior to the 1977 elections. It consists of seven segments of Vidhan Sabha and is reserved for the ST category. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the
Jagatsinghpur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 16) were 1,455,406 of which 691,294 are females and 764,112 are males. The city of Jagatsinghpur is 41 kms away from Cuttack, covering an approximate area of 9 sqkms. It has an average elevation of 15 metres and is surrounded by Cuttack, Kendrapara and Puri and lies along the Bay of Bengal just 15 kms from the largest port of the state, Paradeep. The Jagatsinghpur district covers an area of 1,759 sqkms.

As of 2011, the city has a total population of about 33,000 of which child population is about 10%. 52% of the population comprises of males and the sex ratio is 967 females per 1,000 males. The official language is Oriya and Jagatsinghpur has an average literacy rate of 75%. Male literacy rate is 81%, while the female literacy rate stands at 69%. The city is home to several premier institutions imparting education at various levels and colleges which have degree courses in fields of arts, engineering, law, medical sciences and other general sciences. Trade and transportation are the major sources of income besides manufacturing of forest goods. The Odisha State Highway SH-43 is connected to the city.

Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Rajashree MallickBiju Janata Dal6189550103061998550.44Winner
Bibhu Prasad TaraiBharatiya Janata Party3463980193234833028.341st Runner-up
Pratima MallickIndian National Congress239114057023968419.52nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above604201560570.493rd Runner-up
Bibhuti Bhusan MajhiBahujan Samaj Party522601852440.434th Runner-up
Anil Kumar BeheraFreethought Party Of India35850135860.295th Runner-up
Sasmita DasIndependent18040918130.156th Runner-up
Peeyuush DasAmbedkarite Party Of India17510017510.147th Runner-up
Dipak Kumar DasAkhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha15030015030.128th Runner-up
Jagannath MeghJai Prakash Janata Dal12370012370.19th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jagatsinghpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jagatsinghpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jagatsinghpur constituency is Shri Kulamani Samal of BJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201416Jagatsinghpur(SC)Kulamani SamalMBJD624492Bibhu Prasad TaraiMINC348098
200916Jagatsinghpur(SC)Tarai,Shri Bibhu Prasad MCPI457234Rabindra Kumar SethyMINC380499
20047JagatsinghpurGENBrahmananda PandaMBJD466383Ranjib BiswalMINC409121
19997JagatsinghpurGENTrilochan KanungoMBJD439888Ranjib BiswalMINC290606
19987JagatsinghpurGENRanjib BiswalMINC337492Trilochan KanungoMBJD317563
19967JagatsinghpurGENRanjib BiswalMINC365157Nityananda SamntarayMJD317879
19917JagatsinghpurGENLoknath ChoudhuryMCPI321635Nityananda SamantarayMINC304610
19897JagatsinghpurGENLokanath ChoudharyMCPI408057Basudev MohapatraMINC259921
19847JagatsinghpurGENLakshman MallickMINC263352Rabi RoyMJNP262394
19807JagatsinghpurGENLakshman MallickMINC(I)228795Rabi RayMJNP(S)168903
19777JagatsinghpurGENPradyumna Kishore BalMBLD228620Basudev MohapatraMINC118669

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jagatsinghpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jagatsinghpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Niali (SC) Paradeep Tirtol (SC)
Balikuda-Erasama Jagatsinghpur Kakatpur (SC)

Last Updated on July 2019, 2019