Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Orissa Assembly Election Results in 1995

Elections to the Eleventh Legislative Assembly of Orissa were held in March 1995. 1413 candidates from various political parties were in fray, contesting in a total of 147 Assembly constituencies, out of which 91 assembly seats were reserved for General candidates, 22 seats were reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates and 34 were reserved for candidates from Scheduled Tribes. The Congress formed the government by winning 80 out of the 146 Assembly seats in which it contested. The Janata Dal on the other hand decreased in appeal to the people, bagging only 46 Assembly seats. B. Satya Narayan Reddy continued in the prestigious post of Governor of Orissa for the first few months of this tenure. Henceforth, the post alternated between co-founder of Indian National Trade Union Congress Gopala Ramanujam and K.V. Raghunatha Reddy. Kishore Chandra Patel was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Orissa Vidhan Sabha during this period while Chintamani Dyan Samantra was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker. Janaki Ballabh Patnaik was re-elected as the Chief Minister of Orissa during most of this period, till February 1999 when Giridhar Gamang took charge as Chief Minister, followed by former Chief Minister Hemananda Biswal, who took charge for the last few months of this term.

Some of the most important legislations passed in the Orissa Assembly during this period were:
  • Orissa Lokpal and Lokayaktas Act, 1995
  • Orissa Special Courts (Repeal and Special Provisions) Act, 1995
  • Orissa Luxury Tax Act, 1995
  • Orissa Municipal (Amendment) Act, 1995
  • Orissa Panchayat Samiti (Amendment) Act, 1995
  • Orissa Zilla Parishad (Amendment) Act, 1995
  • Orissa Electricity Reform Act, 1995
  • Orissa Municipal (Amendment) Act, 1996
  • Orissa Panchayat Raj Finance Commission (Miscellaneous Provisions) Amendment Act, 1996
  • Orissa Panchayat Samiti (Amendments) Act, 1997
  • Orissa District Planning Committees Act, 1998
  • Western Orissa Department Council Act, 1998
  • Orissa Entry Tax Act, 1999

List of Successful Candidates in Orissa Assembly Election in 1995

Partytype Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1 BJP Bharatiya Janata Party
2 CPI Communist Party of India
3 CPMCommunist Party of India (Marxist)
4 INC Indian National Congress
5 JD Janata Dal
6 JP Janata Party
7 SAP Samata Party
State Parties
8BSP Bahujan Samaj Party
9 FBL All India Forward Bloc
10 JMM Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
11 JPP Jharkhand People's Party
12 SSP Sikkim Sangram Parishad
Registered(Unrecognised ) Parties
14 CPI(ML)(L) Communist Party of India (Marxist-Lenninist)(liberation)
15 DDP Doordarshi Party
16 JKP Jharkhand Party
17 JMM(S) Jharkhand Mukti Morcha(Soren)
18 KP Kannada Paksha
19 OCG Orissa Congress
20 OCP Orissa Communist Party
21 PSS Pratap Shiv Sena
22 PSSS Proutist Sarva Samaj Samiti
23 SJP(R) Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya)
24 SVP Sarvodaya Party
25 IND Independent

Last Updated on April 29, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit