Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 2008

Lalthanhawla led the Congress (INC) to a thumping victory in the December by trouncing the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF). National parties like the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party), the INC (Indian National Congress), NCP (Nationalist Congress Party), state parties such as MNF (Mizo National Front), MPC (Mizoram People's Conference), ZNP (Zoram Nationalist Party) and other parties like JD(U) (Janata Dal (United)); registered (unrecognised) parties like the LB (Lok Bharati), the LJP (Lok Jan Shakti Party), the MDF (Maraland Democratic Front); and other independents submitted nomination papers.The Congress bagged 32 seats of the 40-member assembly, while the MNF could manage to win only three seats, and the third force, MPC and ZNP, only two seats each. Lalthanhawla was sworn in as the sixth chief minister of the state. No one before him has ever been chief minister four times in the state. Lt. General M. M. Lakhera was the governor in Mizoram at that time. There were 6,11,618 electors, and the total turnout was 80.02%.

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 2008

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Hachhek (ST)Lalrinmawia RalteMINC
2Dampa (ST)LalrobiakaMINC
3Mamit (ST)John RotluanglianaMINC
4Tuirial (ST)Hmingdailova KhiangteMINC
5Kolasib (ST)P.C. Zoram SanglianaMINC
6Serlui (ST)K. LalrinthangaMINC
7Tuivawl (ST)R.L.PianmawiaMINC
8Chalfilh (ST)ChawngtinthangaMINC
9Tawi (ST)R.LalzirlianaMINC
10Aizawl North-I (ST)R.RomawiaMINC
11Aizawl North-II (ST)H.LiansailovaMINC
12Aizawl North-III (ST)Lal ThanzaraMINC
13Aizawl East-IR.LalrinawmaMINC
14Aizawl East-II (ST)LalsawtaMINC
15Aizawl West-I (ST)LalduhawmaMZNP
16Aizawl West-II (ST)Brig.T. SailoMMPC
17Aizawl West-III (ST)R.SelthuamaMINC
18Aizawl South-I (ST)K.LiantlingaMZNP
19Aizawl South-II (ST)Lt.Col. ZosangzualaMINC
20Aizawl South-III (ST)K.S.ThangaMINC
21Lengteng (ST)H.RohlunaMINC
22Tuichang (ST)Lalrinliana SailoMINC
23Champhai North (ST)T.T.ZothansangaMINC
24Champhai South (ST)J.H.RothuamaMINC
25EastTuipui (ST)B.LalthlenglianaMMNF
26Serchhip (ST)Lal ThanhawlaMINC
27Tuikum (ST)K. LianzualaMINC
28Hrangturzo (ST)LalthansangaMMPC
29SouthTuipui (ST)LalthanhawlaMINC
30Lunglei North (ST)Pc LalthanlianaMINC
31Lunglei East (ST)Joseph LalhimpuiaMINC
32Lunglei West (ST)Dr. R. LalthanglianaMMNF
33Lunglei South (ST)S. LaldinglianaMINC
34Thorang (ST)ZodintluangaMINC
35West Tuipui (ST)Nihar KantiMINC
36Tuichawng (ST)Nirupam ChakmaMINC
37Lawngtlai West (ST)C. RamhlunaMMNF
38Lawngtlai East (ST)H. ZothanglianaMINC
39Saiha (ST)S. HiatoMINC
40Palak (ST)P.P. ThawlaMMDF

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 2008

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1BJP Bhartiya Janta Party
2INC Indian National Congress
3NCP Nationalist Congress Party
State Parties
4MNF Mizo National Front
5MPC Mizoram People's Conference
6ZNP Mizoram Nationalist Party
State Parties - Other States
7JD(U) Janata Dal (United)
Registered(Unrecognised ) Parties
8LB Lok Bharati
9LJP Lok Jan Shakti Party
10MDF Maraland Democratic Front
11IND Independent

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit