Track your constituency

Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1998

Latest Election News and Update

AAP Delhi Election Results AAP Maintains Lead in Delhi Assembly Elections Results 2020

Vote counting is underway for Delhi Election Result 2020. The tension is heightened up for the real outcome of the election. As per the latest updates, Aam Aadmi Party is Read More…

Delhi Election Results 2020 - Live News Updates Delhi Election Results 2020: Live News Updates

  DELHI ELECTION RESULTS 2020 LIVE 7:21:21 PM Result Declared Chhatarpur: Kartar Singh Tanwar of AAP won by 3720 votes. Karol Bagh: Vishesh Ravi of AAP won by 31760 votes. Read More…

Delhi Exit Poll Highlights Exit Polls Predict Third Term for Kejriwal Government

With an overall voter turnout of 57%, polling for the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 has concluded. Many polling agencies have started publishing the Delhi Exit Poll 2020. All of them Read More…

Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage

LIVE UPDATES    4:01:05 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar 42.47 Badli North West Delhi Read More…

Delhi Election Live Updates Delhi Election 2020: Live News Updates

Delhi Elections Live News Updates of Polling. Follow 4:00:07 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar Read More…

Delhi Election 2020 - Yogi Adityanath Rallies Yogi Adityanath Dives Into Political Warfare of Delhi To Promotes Shaheen Bagh Trump Card

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Hard Hindutva face Yogi Adityanath has joined the fiery campaign for Delhi Election 2020. Now that the tone has been set for the campaign, Yogi is walking Read More…

There are forty assembly constituencies in Mizoram, out of which thirty nine are reserved for Scheduled Tribes. In the 1998 elections, various parties submitting their candidacy included: National parties like the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party), the INC (Indian National Congress), the JD (Janata Dal), the SAP (Samata Party); state parties like the LS (Lok Shakti), the MNF (Mizo National Front), the RJD (Rashtriya Janata Dal); registered (unrecognised) parties like the MDF (Maraland Democratic Front), the MNF (N) (Mizo National Front (Nationalist)),the MZPC (Mizoram People's Conference); and several independent candidates. The MNF secured twenty constituencies out of forty, achieving the top position, whereas MZPC, INC and IND got twelve, six and one, respectively. In 1998, there were 2,23,262 male electors and 2,22,104 female electors. The total polling percentage was 76.32%. Pu Zoramthanga from the MNF party was elected as chief minister on December 3, 1998. A. Padmanabhan was the governor in Mizoram at that time.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1998

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)K.T.RokhawMINC
2Saiha (ST)Zakhu HlychhoMINC
3Sangau (ST)H. RammawiMIND
4Lawngtlai (ST)C. ThanghlunaMINC
5Chawngte (ST)N.P. ChakmaMINC
6Tlabung (ST)Nihar KantiMINC
7Buarpui (ST)LalrinzualaMMZPC
8Lunglei SouthJ. LawmzualaMMZPC
9Lunglei North (ST)Dr. R. LalthanglianaMMNF
10Tawipui (ST)H. RopuiaMMNF
11Vanva (ST)C. LalrinsangaMMNF
12Hnahthial (ST)F. LalthanzualaMMZPC
13North Vanlaiphai (ST)R. LalawiaMMNF
14Khawbung (ST)ZoramthangaMMNF
15Champhai (ST)ZoramthangaMMNF
16Khawhai (ST)K.L. LianchiaMMZPC
17Saitual (ST)R. LalzirlianaMINC
18Khawzawl (ST)AichhingaMMNF
19Ngopa (ST)P.B. RosangaMMZPC
20Suangpuilawn (ST)H. LaltanpuiaMMZPC
21Ratu (ST)LalthankungaMMNF
22Kawnpui (ST)Sanghmingthanga PautuMMNF
23Kolasib (ST)RualchhinaMMNF
24Bilkhawthlir (ST)LalchamlianaMMNF
25Lokicherra (ST)TawnluiaMMNF
26Kawrthah (ST)K. SangthuamaMMNF
27Mamit (ST)Brig. T. SailoMMZPC
28Phuldungsei (ST)J. LalthanglianaMMZPC
29Sateek (ST)B. LalthlenglianaMMNF
30Serchhip (ST)K. ThangzualaMMNF
31Lungpho (ST)VanlalhlanaMMZPC
32Tlungvel (ST)L.N. TluangaMMZPC
33Aizawl North-I (ST)Dr. LalzamaMMNF
34Aizawl North II (ST)F. MalsawmaMMNF
35Aizawl East-I (ST)LalhmingthangaMMZPC
36Aizawl East-II (ST)H. VanlalauvaMMNF
37Aizawl West I (ST)Col. Lalchungnunga SailoMMZPC
38Aizawl West-II (ST)LalrinchhanaMMNF
39Aizawl South - I (ST)R. TlanghmingthangaMMNF
40Aizawl South - II (ST)C. SangzualaMMNF

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1998

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1BJP Bhartiya Janta Party
2INC Indian National Congress
3JD Janata Dal (not to be used in general elections, 1999)
4SAP Samata Party
State Parties
5LS Lok Shakti
6MNF Mizo National Front
7RJD Rashtriya Janata Dal
Registered(Unrecognised ) Parties
8MDF Maraland Democratic Front
9MNF(N) Mizo National Front (Nationalist)
10MZPC Mizoram People's Conference
11IND Independent

Last Updated on 11/2/2013