Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1993

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1993

The seventh general electionto the state legislative assembly of Mizoram in 1994 had to be expedited due to the celebration of Gospel Centenary and was thus held on November 30,1993. A unique election scenario surfaced in 1993 as the Congress went into an alliance with the Peoples' Conference (PC), a local party headed by Brig. T. Sailo. At that time, the People's Conference had joined the Janata Dal just after the state assembly elections of 1989. However, it abjured the affiliation and renamed itself Mizoram Janata Dal (MJD), thus forming an alliance with the heavyweight Congress soon after the 1993 elections. The elections witnessed a total of 121 candidates contesting. The INC secured 16 seats, the Mizoram National Front (MNF) bagged 14 and the PC (B) (Ind) got 8, while independent candidates secured 2 seats. The Mizoram Janata Dal (MJD), under the leadership of Brig. T. Sailo and the Congress under Shri Lalthanhawla formed a new coalition government,with Lalthanhawla as the Chief Minister. P. R. Kyndiah was the governor at that time.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1993

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)K. Rokhaw MIND
2Saiha (ST)Zakhu Hlychho MMNF
3Sangau (ST)S. T. Rualyapa MINC
4Lawngtlai (ST)T. Hranghluta MMNF
5Chawngte (ST)Nirupam MINC
6Tlabung (ST)Harikristo Chakma MINC
7Buarpui (ST)P. Lalbiaka MINC
8Lunglei SouthH. Lalruata MMNF
9Lunglei North (ST)R. Lalthangliana MMNF
10Tawipui (ST)F. Lalzuala MMNF
11Vanva (ST)H. Thangkima MIND
12Hnahthial (ST)L. P. Thangzika MMNF
13North Vanlaiphai (ST)C. L. Ruala MINC
14Khawbung (ST)Hrangthanga Colney MIND
15Champhai (ST)Zoramthanga MMNF
16Khawhai (ST)Lalbiakzuala MINC
17Saitual (ST)C. Chawngkunga MIND
18Khawzawl (ST)C. Vulluaia MIND
19Ngopa (ST)H. Zathuama MIND
20Suangpuilawn (ST)F. Lawmkiam MIND
21Ratu (ST)Lalrinchhana MMNF
22Kawnpui (ST)R. L. Valla MINC
23Kolasib (ST)Zosiama Pachuau MIND
24Bilkhawthlir (ST)Vaivenga MINC
25Lokicherra (ST)John Rotluangliana MINC
26Kawrthah (ST)Saikapthianga MINC
27Mamit (ST)Lalthuthanga MINC
28Phuldungsei (ST)Liansuama MINC
29Sateek (ST)B. Lalthengliana MMNF
30Serchhip (ST)Lal Thanhawla MINC
31Lungpho (ST)P. C. Bawitluanga MINC
32Tlungvel (ST)P. C. Zoramsangliana MINC
33Aizawl North-I (ST)Lalhmingthanga MIND
34Aizawl North II (ST)F. Malsawma MMNF
35Aizawl East-I (ST)J. Lalsangzuala MINC
36Aizawl East-II (ST)F. Lalremsiama MMNF
37Aizawl West I (ST)Lalkhana MMNF
38Aizawl West-II (ST)J. V. Hluna MIND
39Aizawl South - I (ST)R. Tlanghmingthanga MMNF
40Aizawl South - II (ST)Lalsawta MMNF

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1993

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1BJP Bhartiya Janta Party
2INC Indian National Congress
State Parties
3MNF Mizo National Front
4IND Independent

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit