Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1989

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1989

In 1989 was the sixth general election for the legislative assembly of Mizoram?. There were 40 constituencies at that time, and the number of voters in each constituency ranged from 5,328 to 13,993. In total, there were about 333,733 registered voters in 1989, out of which 168,570 were male electors and 165,163 were female. The electorate of 1989 registered a marginal increase from 321,557 voters during the 1987 elections, when 72.63% polling was recorded. 35,000 new voters were enlisted in the last elections, out of which 90% were underage. A total of 162 candidates contested in the assembly elections. The Indian National Congress (INC) bagged 23 seats, while the People's Conference secured 1, the Mizoram National Front gained 14 and the MNF (Democratic) got 2. The ministry was headed by Shri Lalthanhawla, who was sworn in on January 24, 1989. General K. V. Krishna Rao became the then governor, but was soon replaced by Capt. W. A. Sangma.

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1989

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)Hiphei MINC
2Saiha (ST)S. Hiato MINC
3Sangau (ST)H. Rammawi MMNF
4Lawngtlai (ST)F. Manghnuna MINC
5Chawngte (ST)Nirupam MINC
6Tlabung (ST)Hari Kristo Chakma MINC
7Buarpui (ST)P. Lalbiaka MINC
8Lunglei SouthF. Sapa MINC
9Lunglei North (ST)R. Thangliana MMNF
10Tawipui (ST)P. Siamliana MIND
11Vanva (ST)R. Romawia MMNF
12Hnahthial (ST)Vanlalanghaka MINC
13North Vanlaiphai (ST)C. L. Ruala MINC
14Khawbung (ST)K. Vanlalauva MMNF
15Champhai (ST)Zoramthanga MMNF
16Khawhai (ST)J. H. Rothuama MMNF
17Saitual (ST)Andrew Lalherliana MIND
18Khawzawl (ST)Tawnluia MMNF
19Ngopa (ST)Zosiama Pachuau MPPC
20Suangpuilawn (ST)Vanlalngena MINC
21Ratu (ST)Lalrinchhana MMNF
22Kawnpui (ST)Vaivenga MINC
23Kolasib (ST)Aichhinga MMNF
24Bilkhawthlir (ST)Zalawma MINC
25Lokicherra (ST)Lalthanhawla MINC
26Kawrthah (ST)Saikapthianga MINC
27Mamit (ST)Lalhuthanga MINC
28Phuldungsei (ST)Liansuama MINC
29Sateek (ST)Lalrawnliana MMNF
30Serchhip (ST)Lalthanhawla MINC
31Lungpho (ST)P. C. Bawihtluanga MINC
32Tlungvel (ST)P. C. Zoramsangliana MINC
33Aizawl North-I (ST)Rosangliana MINC
34Aizawl North II (ST)H. Thansanga MINC
35Aizawl East-I (ST)Ohn Lalsangzuala MINC
36Aizawl East-II (ST)Rokamlova MINC
37Aizawl West I (ST)J. Tahnghuama MMNF
38Aizawl West-II (ST)Rualchhina MMNF
39Aizawl South - I (ST)R. Tlagghmingthanga MMNF
40Aizawl South - II (ST)Laldenga MMNF

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1989

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1INC Indian National Congress
State Parties
2MNF Mizo National Front
4IND Independent

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit