Track your constituency

Track your constituency

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1987

Mizoram was a Union Territory during the period 1972-86, being an associate member of Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. With the attainment of statehood by an act of Indian parliament, passed in August 1986, which came into force on February 20, 1987, it became the 23rd state of India. Finally, the number of assembly seats in the state came to 40 after 10 more seats were added in the same year.

The February 16, 1987 witnessed the first general elections of the Mizoram State Legislative Assembly, for which 145 candidates contested. The tally of seats for various parties was: the INC secured 13, the People's Conference bagged 3, and the Mizoram National Front won 24. Shri Laldenga won seats from 2 constituencies (34-Aizawl North and 29-Sateek).

The overall percentage of votes polled was 72.63, which indicated the awareness and desire of the Mizo electors to establish peace, stability, progress and socio-economic transformation in their state. The Mizoram National Front Leader Shri Laldenga took charge as the first Chief Minister of Mizoram State. Hiteswar Saikia was the then Governor.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1987

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)HipheiMINC
2Saiha (ST)S. HiatoMINC
3Sangau (ST)H. RammawiMPPC
4Lawngtlai (ST)F. LalramlianaMINC
5Chawngte (ST)Nirupam ChakmaMINC
6Tlabung (ST)HarikristoMINC
7Buarpui (ST)P. LalbiakaMINC
8Lunglei SouthH. LalruataMIND
9Lunglei North (ST)L. NgurchhinaMIND
10Tawipui (ST)SiamlianaMIND
11Vanva (ST)K. ThanfiangaMIND
12Hnahthial (ST)VanlalnghakaMINC
13North Vanlaiphai (ST)LalrinmawiaMIND
14Khawbung (ST)K. VanlalauvaMIND
15Champhai (ST)ZoramthangaMIND
16Khawhai (ST)R. LalawiaMIND
17Saitual (ST)Andrew L. HerlianaMIND
18Khawzawl (ST)TawnluiaMIND
19Ngopa (ST)Zosiama PachuauMPPC
20Suangpuilawn (ST)VanlalngenaMINC
21Ratu (ST)LalrinchhanaMIND
22Kawnpui (ST)LalkhawnghmaMIND
23Kolasib (ST)AichhingaMIND
24Bilkhawthlir (ST)VanlalhruaiaMIND
25LokicherraJ. ThanghuamaMIND
26Kawrthah (ST)SaikapthiangaMINC
27Mamit (ST)K. ZahunglianaMIND
28Phuldungsei (ST)LiansuamaMINC
29Sateek (ST)LaldengaMIND
30Serchhip (ST)LalthanhawlaMINC
31Lungpho (ST)K. L. LianchiaMPPC
32Tlungvel (ST)P. C. ZoramsanglianaMINC
33Aizawl North-I (ST)LalhlimpuiiFIND
34Aizawl North II (ST)LaldengaMIND
35Aizawl East-I (ST)Saingura SailoMIND
36Aizawl East-II (ST)RokamlovaMINC
37Aizawl West I (ST)H. HrangdawlaMIND
38Aizawl West-II (ST)RualchhinaMIND
39Aizawl South - I (ST)R. TlanghmingthangaMIND
40Aizawl South - II (ST)ChawngzualaMIND

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1987

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1INC Indian National Congress
State Parties
2PPC Peoples Conference
3IND Independent

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…