Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1979

The 1978 assembly election was won by the People's Conference (PC) headed by Brig. Thenphunga Sailo. But then the PC party split into PC (A) and PC (B) after five months and Mizoram was declared under President's Rule on November 10, 1978. The third general elections for the Mizoram assembly were held on April 24 and 27, 1979, and the People's Conference won 22 out of 30 seats, in which the PC (A) group, led by Brigadier T. Sailo, bagged 18. Sailo became Chief Minister for the second time, while the Congress with 15 seats, Janata with 2 and PC (B) with 4 seats, formed the opposition. Apparently, the defeat of the Congress was blamed on factors that brought about the downfall of Indira Gandhi in the sudden post-Emergency phase. But the national sentiment wasn't yet reflected in Mizoram politics and Sailo rode to the crest of popularity and this time he lasted his full tenure of five years. N. P. Mathur was the governor at that time.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1979

A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
2SangauH. RammawiMPPC
3SaihaS. VadyuMJNP
4ChawngteSneha KumarMIND
5DemagiriHari Kristo ChakmaMINC(I)
6BuarpuiK. LalsangaMPPC
8TawipuiB. LalchungungaMPPC
9HnahthiaalEllis SaidengaMPPC
10N. VanlaiphaiNgurchhinaMIND
11KhawbungJ. NgurdawlaMPPC
13KhawhaiJ. H. RouthuamaMIND
14SaitualL. PiandengaMPPC
15NgopaP. B. RosangaMPPC
16SuanpuilawnF. MalsawmaMPPC
17RatuJ. ThankungaMPPC
18KawnpuiKenneth ChawnglianaMPPC
19KolasibC. ChawngkungaMPPC
21SaisangC. VulluaiaMPPC
22PhuldungseiP. LalupaMIND
25LungpoK. BiakchungnungaMPPC
26TlungvelC. L. RualaMINC(I)
27Aizawl NorthThenphunga SailoMPPC
28Aizawl EastThanmawilFPPC
29Aizawl WestZairemthangaMPPC
30Aizawl SouthSainghakaMINC(I)

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1979

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
National Parties
1INC(I) Indian National Congress (I)
2JNP Janta Party
State Parties
3PPC People's Conference
4. IND Independent-

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit