Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Mizoram Assembly Election Results in 1978

Thenphunga Sailo, also known as Brigadier Sailo, formed a political party known as the People's Conference on April 17, 1974. In May 1978, a year after the Chhunga ministry resigned, the second general election for the Mizoram Assembly was held.The People's Conference (PC) won 22 seats out of the total 30 while the independent candidates and the Mizoram Congress Committee (MCC) shared 4 seats each. Brigadier T. Sailo was crowned as the second Chief Minister of Mizoram. The PC party, however, suffered from a major split in October 1978 when the ministry was capsized by 8 discordant MLAs who withdrew their support from the CM. According to Sailo loyalists, the split occurred due to the personal ambitions of the rebel MLAs, as they were dissatisfied for being including in the ministry. It was decided to form an alternative government of the PC and Mizoram was soon under President's Rule. N. P. Mathur was the then governor.

See Also: Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2013

List of Successful Candidates in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1978

As directed by the Election Commission of India, political parties in Mizoram can't spend more than Rs. 8 lakh per candidate for the 2013 assembly elections.

Mizoram 2013 Elections stats and dates
A. C. No.Assembly Constituency NameWinner Candidates NameGenderParty
1Tuipang (ST)Hiphei MIND
2Sangau (ST)K. Sangchhum MIND
3Saiha (ST)R.T. Zachono MIND
4Chawngte (ST)Kistomohan MIND
5DemagiriHarikristo MIND
6Buarpui (ST)K. Lalsanga MPPC
7Lunglei (ST)Lalhmingthanga MPPC
8Tawi Pui (ST)H. Kiautuma MPPC
9Hnahthial (ST)R. Romawia MPPC
10N. VanlaiphaiJ.H. Rothuama MPPC
11Khawbung (ST)J. Kapthianga MPPC
12Champhai (ST)Lalthanhawla MIND
13Khawhai (ST)Vanlalhruaia MPPC
14Saitual (ST)K.M. Baiksailova MPPC
15Ngopa (ST)B.P. Rosanga MPPC
16Suangpuilawn (ST)F. Malsawma MPPC
17Ratu (ST)J. Thankunga MPPC
18Aawntui (ST)K. Chawngliana MPPC
19Kolasit (ST)Chawngkunga MPPC
20Kawrthah (ST)C. Vulluaia MPPC
21Sairang (ST)Tiangchhunga MPPC
22PhuldungseiP. Lalupa MPPC
23Sateek (ST)Lalthanzauva MPPC
24Serchhip (ST)Thanmawii FPPC
25Lungpho (ST)K. Baikchungnunga MPPC
26Tlungvel (ST)C.L. Ruala MIND
27Aizawl North (ST)Thzngphunga Sailo MPPC
28Aizawl East (ST)Thangridema MPPC
29Aizawl West (ST)Zairemthanga MPPC
30Aizawl South (ST)Sainghaka MIND

List of Participating Political Parties in Mizoram Assembly Election in 1978

S.No.Party Abbreviation Party
State Parties
1PPC People's Conference
2IND Independent

Last Updated on April 24, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit