Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Ranchi Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

A politically significant parliamentary constituency is the seat of Ranchi in the eastern Indian state of Jharkhand. Ranchi, which is one of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in the state of Jharkhand, is the capital of the state. The Ranchi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 8) has a total of 1,625,148 electorates out of which 754,348 are females and 870,800 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Covering portions of the districts of Seraikela Kharsawan and Ranchi, this constituency has remained a stronghold of the Congress, although from 1991 to 1999 the seat was in the hands of the BJP.

Two of the most prominent political leaders in this constituency are Ram Tahal Choudhary of the BJP and Subodh Kant Sahay of the Congress. Out of the six Vidhan Sabha segments which make up this parliamentary constituency, Khijri and Kanke have been reserved for the marginalised sections of society. The Ichagarh assembly segment spreads across the Seraikela Kharsawan district, while the remaining five segments are part of the Ranchi district. Both these districts of Ranchi and Seraikela Kharsawan are in the list of economically backward districts, owing to the frequent Maoist attacks which take place in this region. These thus receive aid under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme of the Government of India.

Ranchi Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sanjay SethBharatiya Janata Party7043010252770682857.21Winner
Subodh Kant SahayIndian National Congress4226720113042380234.31st Runner-up
Ram Tahal ChoudharyIndependent294540143295972.42nd Runner-up
Raju MahtoIndependent93720093720.763rd Runner-up
Bidyadhar PrasadBahujan Samaj Party875704187980.714th Runner-up
Nand Kishore YadavIndependent77950678010.635th Runner-up
Sunita MundaAmbedkarite Party Of India661405566690.546th Runner-up
Jitendra ThakurIndependent63830063830.527th Runner-up
Amar Kumar MahtoRepublican Party Of India (A)582601158370.478th Runner-up
Rajesh ThapaIndependent44390144400.369th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above434803343810.3510th Runner-up
Anjani PandeyIndependent35800835880.2911th Runner-up
Jay Prakash PrasadIndependent28300228320.2312th Runner-up
Rajesh KumarIndependent26510326540.2113th Runner-up
Alok KumarRashtriya Jansangharsh Swaraj Party23980624040.1914th Runner-up
Sidheshwar SinghSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)22220522270.1815th Runner-up
Parmeshwar MahtoJharkhand Party203301720500.1716th Runner-up
Ramjit MahtoProutist Sarva Samaj15050015050.1217th Runner-up
Satish SinghIndependent14730114740.1218th Runner-up
Vikas Chandra SharmaCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star14050214070.1119th Runner-up
Ranjit MahtoPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)13890313920.1120th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ranchi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ranchi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ranchi constituency is Shri Ram Tahal Choudhary of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20148RanchiGENRam Tahal Choudhary M BJP 448729 Subodh Kant Sahay M INC 249426
20098RanchiGENSahai,Shri Subodh Kant MINC310499Ram Tahal ChoudharyMBJP297149
20048RanchiGENSubodh Kant SahayMINC284035Ram Tahal ChoudharyMBJP268614

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ranchi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ranchi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
IchagarhKhijri (ST)Hatia
SilliRanchiKanke (SC)

Last Updated on June 27, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit